Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
If I could give this bread more stars I would. By far the best white bread I have come across on this site. The only change I made was to use butter instead of margarine, and I mixed/kneaded in my kitchen aid and then baked in the oven at 350 for 37 minutes. I will be doubling the recipe next time, 1 loaf just isn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great bread recipe, that I've made repeatedly. I use canola oil instead of butter, and it still turns out fine. If I feel like I want a denser, oatier loaf, I use 1 cup of oats to 2.5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Simple ingredients, easy to make, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Made this bread 1.exact to inst.2.sub.1/2 c whole wht pastry flour. 3. added cinn.raisens used splenda and cut down the sugar. It was amazing that no matter how I changed it out,the bread raised and baked so well. I need to ad that I used the brd.mach. up to dough setting than kneaded a very few times plopped in bread pan and what a wonderful treat. I will continue to use this recipe as my base. I also, gave it to my sister she loves it as well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeriAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I make this bread about 3 times a month and have never taken the time to rate it. I do use 1c. wheat flour and 2 c. regular bread flour though. As other reviewers have suggested, I increase the brown sugar to 3 T. instead of 2 T. And I always add a bit of milk (usually 1 T.) in place of the water for a softer crust. At times I have also replaced the margarine with olive oil. Sorry for the many changes but I think once you get used to a recipe, it's fun to change it up a bit for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brit
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
One of the best bread I have made with the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Followed recipe exactly, turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this bread. I don't have a bread machine so I do it all by hand with the assistance of my trusty Kitchenaid. The only change I make is I didn't have oats the first time I made it so i use 3 TBSP of a ten grain cereal mix and an extra 1/4 cup of water to make sure the loaf doesn't dry out. This is our new standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Excellent basic recipe as is, but also terrific with a few healthly additions. In consideration for my Type II diabetic husband, I tossed in a couple of tablespoons each of flax seeds, millet, sesame seeds and cornmeal. This adds heft to the loaf with complex carbs (digested more slowly) and a protein boost as well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Excellent! I bake in my oven as opposed to the machine for a better result. I also often sub honey for the sugar and some olive oil in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New Brunswick, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States