Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I used the instructions of another reviewer to make this without a bread machine. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Yummy! Made without a bread machine but proofing the yeast with water and brown sugar for 20 minutes, then added the rest of the ingredients. I used my dough hooks on my hand mixer to blend ingredients and knead. I also used half white wheat flour and half AP flour for extra grains! Already have many requests for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I loved this great recipe! I used the directions one of the users gave me because I didn't have a bread machine, and it turned out very well baked and with a nice crust! It remained warm and solid for the night, and to be honest while the dough was rising I couldn't keep myself from snacking on some of the leftover pieces in the large bowl I mixed it in! Though something I would recommend; add a about half a cup of oats more if you want some major texture and taste! Five stars! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
If I could give this bread more stars I would. By far the best white bread I have come across on this site. The only change I made was to use butter instead of margarine, and I mixed/kneaded in my kitchen aid and then baked in the oven at 350 for 37 minutes. I will be doubling the recipe next time, 1 loaf just isn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great bread recipe, that I've made repeatedly. I use canola oil instead of butter, and it still turns out fine. If I feel like I want a denser, oatier loaf, I use 1 cup of oats to 2.5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Simple ingredients, easy to make, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Made this bread 1.exact to inst.2.sub.1/2 c whole wht pastry flour. 3. added cinn.raisens used splenda and cut down the sugar. It was amazing that no matter how I changed it out,the bread raised and baked so well. I need to ad that I used the brd.mach. up to dough setting than kneaded a very few times plopped in bread pan and what a wonderful treat. I will continue to use this recipe as my base. I also, gave it to my sister she loves it as well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeriAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I make this bread about 3 times a month and have never taken the time to rate it. I do use 1c. wheat flour and 2 c. regular bread flour though. As other reviewers have suggested, I increase the brown sugar to 3 T. instead of 2 T. And I always add a bit of milk (usually 1 T.) in place of the water for a softer crust. At times I have also replaced the margarine with olive oil. Sorry for the many changes but I think once you get used to a recipe, it's fun to change it up a bit for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brit
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
One of the best bread I have made with the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Followed recipe exactly, turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States