Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Loved it! Best bread I have ever made. I didn't use a bread machine. Instead I did the following: mixed dry ingredients in large bowl. Combined yeast, honey (in place of sugar), butter, and warm water in a separate bowl. Mixed until dissolved and left to sit a couple minutes until creamy. Added yeast mixture to dry ingredients. After kneeding the dough for a while, 10-15 minutes or so, I left it to rise until it was just over double the size. Punched it down. Put dough into bread pan and left to rise again. Baked in the oven for 35 minutes at 350 degrees. Yum! The crust of this bread is amazing. I will definitely be making this bread again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
702 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Oh my gosh! I got my bread machine for christmas and I have literally tried at LEAST more than a half dozen recipes, I didn't find one I liked until now! I kept it exactly the same except a couple things. I put in 2 cups all purpose and one cup whole wheat (to try to get myself to eat some wheat, I like wheat, but I was raised on white, so it's hard) and I also let it rise once (regular "basic" bread cycle) turned the machine off and then restarted the whole cycle again (I got that tip off one site, supposed to make the bread hold up better, keep it's shape, while still being fluffy). I was scared there would be no need for bread flour or gluten but the oatmeal does the trick! It disappears into the bread and binds great! Great for kids who have issues with "things" showing in the bread, it's all hiding! I can't thank you enough for this one! It's my favorite! I'm so glad it had oatmeal in it too! Great great great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nocuously

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Absolutely delicious!! I added a bit more yeast (I love yeasty bread:) and used quick oatmeal instead of rolled oats. I also prepared on the dough cycle, shaped into a loaf and let rise for 30 mins and then baked for 30 mins at 350 deg. Definitely a keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Amazing amazing. I hand made this and baked it in the oven. "Jules" instructions are spot on. When making this by hand, the dough is quite sticky and wet so I added an extra 1/4 cup flour before turning it onto a board to knead. I then added about another 1/4 cup throughout the kneading process - about 5 min. total. I let it rise 1 1/2 hours for the 1st rise, punch down, put into a large loaf pan and let rise another 45 min. I baked it for exactly 35 min. at 350 and had to cover the top with foil for the last 15 min. It's a super moist bread, dense but tender with a slight oat taste. **Update** This bread does stale quickly after about two days and crumbles. To keep it moist longer and have a chewier texture, add 2-3 tablespoons of powdered gluten. The rise will also be higher. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
What a wonderful recipe! This is excellent. The bread is moist and tastes great. I replaced 1/2 cup of white flour for whole wheat and added a Tbsp of ground flax seed for extra nutrition. This turned out so much better than whole wheat breads I've made which have ended up dry and didn't rise enough. Definately will keep this on hand to make on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I just got a bread machine, and this is the first recipe I've tried worth keeping! I've made it twice already, and will make it again as soon as the bread machine cools off. I did change a few things though. I only used 3/4 tsp of salt, 2 T olive oil instead of butter, and 3 T of brown sugar instead of 2. It looks perfect, tastes perfect, and my 7 kids and I ALL loved it and that is really something hard to find. My husband didn't get to try it because we ate it all before he got home! It rose to the top of my 2 lb breadman machine without over filling. I will probably try adding some raisins and cinnamon next time for something different, but this really is awesome just the way it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Wonderful, light, soft texture. The kids went wild over it... I made a second loaf for the freezer and got it out the next day after the first one disappeared so quickly! I added an extra tablespoon of brown sugar and swapped 1/2 cup white flour for 1/2 cup whole wheat flour! This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is the ultimate bread machine recipe!!! I was leery of the oats as my children question lumpy bread, but somehow, the oats magically disappear! It has a great crust and is easily cut for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
There are so many factors that can influence how a loaf of bread turns out and maybe the "negative factor genies" were working with me on this one. Of all the bread machine recipes I've tried this is probably my least favorite. The dough rose too high, which resulted in a bread that was too moist, fluffy and soft for my liking. (Once out of the bread machine I did throw it in the oven for an additional ten minutes at 375 degrees) It just didn't have the substance or the texture I like in bread, though I admit I grew up with homemade Italian bread! I also thought the taste was rather flat. In hindsight, I'd increase the salt and decrease the yeast and sugar. Also, I assumed I'd notice the oatmeal in the bread, but I did not. Either I just had a bad bread baking day, or it's just a matter of personal preference, or maybe this is one of those breads that's best baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Fantastic bread. Oats just disappear. Excellent texture and taste. Rose better than anything made before. Much nicer than plain white bread - but daughter ate quite happily (unlike brown or wholemeal!). May try bit more salt next time - personal preference - although not sure how will affect yeast recation etc. Excellent recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States