Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this bread. I don't have a bread machine so I do it all by hand with the assistance of my trusty Kitchenaid. The only change I make is I didn't have oats the first time I made it so i use 3 TBSP of a ten grain cereal mix and an extra 1/4 cup of water to make sure the loaf doesn't dry out. This is our new standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Excellent basic recipe as is, but also terrific with a few healthly additions. In consideration for my Type II diabetic husband, I tossed in a couple of tablespoons each of flax seeds, millet, sesame seeds and cornmeal. This adds heft to the loaf with complex carbs (digested more slowly) and a protein boost as well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Excellent! I bake in my oven as opposed to the machine for a better result. I also often sub honey for the sugar and some olive oil in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Easy. Yummy. I used butter in place of margarine but that is the only variant I did. My new favorite 'go to' recipe for my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
our favorite one for bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe is flexible and it is my staple. It is perfect as is, but due to the flexibility of it, you can sub whole wheat flour, oil, less sugar, etc to make it what you are craving. The best part - powdered milk is extremely expensive where I live and this is one of the few bread maker recipes I've found that doesn't require it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Liked this alot, wil make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
ALright recipe, soaking oats in buttermilk prior to adding would give the loaf a much finer texture. I found the crust too heavy. Flavour was very nice and it cuts and toasts well for an oat bread. My husband however loved the heavier crust. But as he is not a chef I have over ruled his 7/10 and awarded my 6/10. Abit bit of tweaking and this could be a great recipe. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Excellent, and adaptable if you want to add more fibre with extra oats or substitution of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Bread caved in a bit so it was hard to cut but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States