Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great recipe. Simple and easy. The first time I followed it exactly and it turned out great, and the second time I did one cup each of bread flour, all purpose flour, and whole wheat flour and it was still yummy. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I baked the recipe exactly how written except for the following substitutions: unsalted butter (melted) instead of margarine; and bread flower instead of all-purpose flour The bread is fantastic. I will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this bread today and it just finished baking in the bread machine. This bread is absolutely delicious and would not make any changes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKTILLIDROP

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I really like this bread. Next time I plan to add whole wheat flour, flax seeds more oats but made it first time by recipe. I like to bake my breads the old fashion way. Kneading is a time to reflect and think about things so I enjoy that time. Bread was very moist and filled my kitchen with a sweetness that most breads I have made don't. I also set at 350 degrees but mine took about 40 minutes to bake. I loved the aroma and will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a good bread--good density, soft but holds together, easy to slice. I didn't find it to have a strong oat flavor, though that makes it more versatile for sandwiches. I like to try different recipes, but I will probably make this one again. I added more brown sugar (3T instead of 2) and I always substitute whole wheat for some of the flour (1C WW to 2C AP). I also add wheat gluten (1T per cup of flour) for better texture and a little extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Crust can be a bit tough, but the loaf slices nicely. The 1st time I made it I used all whole wheat flour and it was too dense. The 2nd time I used 2C A.P. flour and 1C Whole wheat flour and it was perfect. Great sandwich bread and makes awesome toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I've made this twice now and it has come out great each time. I do have to add a about a 1/4 cup more water to mine, but I'm also high alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I used the instructions of another reviewer to make this without a bread machine. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Yummy! Made without a bread machine but proofing the yeast with water and brown sugar for 20 minutes, then added the rest of the ingredients. I used my dough hooks on my hand mixer to blend ingredients and knead. I also used half white wheat flour and half AP flour for extra grains! Already have many requests for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I loved this great recipe! I used the directions one of the users gave me because I didn't have a bread machine, and it turned out very well baked and with a nice crust! It remained warm and solid for the night, and to be honest while the dough was rising I couldn't keep myself from snacking on some of the leftover pieces in the large bowl I mixed it in! Though something I would recommend; add a about half a cup of oats more if you want some major texture and taste! Five stars! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States