Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Wanted a good bread machine recipe that featured oats instead of whole wheat (daughter is allergic). My husband says this is the best bread he's ever eaten! I followed the recipe with a couple modifications: 2 tsp of salt and 1 cup of bread flour substituted for one of the cups of regular flour. I also don't like the bread to knead up too dry, so I added a couple splashes of buttermilk as it mixed. It baked up huge and fluffy and soft! The rolled oats provide just a bit of texture; I may put just a little more in next time. So easy and so good! Making it again as soon as the first loaf is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Wonderful flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Fixed this tonight. Just one word-Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Blake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
It caved in at the end but still, very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very good & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose. Added 2 tbsp of ground flax seed. Used butter instead of margarine. Excellent bread! Loved the texture and flavour (hubby loved it too!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This bread is so tasty. I will admit while I was first putting the ingredients into the machine it smelled awful... Like burnt plastic. After it finished though the house smelled amazing, i'm eating my bread right now. Has a very light texture, crust is great. Next time i will either use bread flower, or some wheat flower to see what happens. Overall a great recipe, and cheap to make. I'm thinking about also using honey instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it produces a perfect loaf every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Good recipe. Only modifications i made was adding some walnuts for added texture & flavour. Before baking cycle oats were sprinkled on the top for presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was terrific. I did not use a bread machine, but I added the flour, oats and salt to a stand mixer and combined the rest of the ingredients in a 2 cup measuring cup. I usually microwave the water about 1 min first to get it to the right temperature, about 110 degrees. Then slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry using the hook attachment. It should come together in about 10 minutes. You may need to stop the mixer a few times to turn the dough and scrape down the sides. Once the dough comes together, form into a ball and place in a greased bowl and cover with saran wrap. Let rise until doubled in size, about 1 hour. Punch down and roll into loaf shape. Transfer to greased pan and cover. Let rise 20-30 minutes. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States