Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very happy with the results, yummy bread that holds together as a sandwich bread. Adapted due to lack of bread machine- mixed lukewarm water, yeast, and brown sugar. Allowed yeast to bloom, about 5 minutes. Added butter. Whisked together remaining ingredients and added a little at a time to wet ingredients. Allowed to rise until doubled in size. Placed in large loaf pan, allowed to rise another 20 minutes. Baked 30 minutes, topped with melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Wife and friends love this bread. It has a little more texture than a plain white loaf but still soft, not chewy. I use Breadman bread machine, has a tendency to rise too long on normal settings so that loaf falls during baking. I've had some luck fixing that by reducing the yeast somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackinthewoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I just love it...I don't have a bread machine but I did anyways so that my oat bread I use a little but if honey ...just came out from the oven ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Wonderful ! I followed some of the advice and it turned out great. I used 1 cup of oat, 1 cup of whole wheat and 2.5 cups white flour and used butter instead of margarine. This is now my favorite recipe for bread machine bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The bread was fine. Nothing special to the flavor but it was a fine bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Makes a nice bread machine bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I've made this a few times now. Each time I made it with 3TB brown sugar instead of two. This is probably the closest I've come to store bought bread. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
First time I made this recipe I followed it to the letter, except that I used the dough cycle and shaped the loaf to bake in the oven. It was fresh and robust with great texture, and didn't have the visible oats that my multigrain-hating daughter dislikes. Trying it again today, using honey in place of the brown sugar for the change of flavour (and because I'm out of brown sugar). Delicious, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome! I followed directions exactly except I used butter instead of margarine! Whole family loves it! My five year old likes to sprinkle cinnamon sugar on it! I am making several loaves to wrap with small containers of cinnamon sugar to give as gifts to my neighbors for the holidays! LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It's a good recipe, and if you leave it to bake in your bread machine, you're going to do well. However, for those of you who will bake it in the oven, keep in mind, this is a very MOIST batter, so it would probably benefit you to leave it in to bake LONGER than usual. I took some tips from other posters who said they put it in at 350F for 35min, but it needed another 10 minutes, and it was STILL moist even then. With that said, it's a good recipe, and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States