Light Linguine Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I agree that it could have used more flavor. Added extra bacon and red peppers. Like some others, I overcooked the egg, which affected consistency but not really taste. Oh, and I added some grilled chicken just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
this turned out to be a hit. I did make a few tweaks. i used 5 slices of bacon, close to 1/2 cup peas, 1/4 cup of alfredo sauce and bowtie pasta instead of linguini. i then lightly dredged a couple of chicken breasts in seasoned flour, fried them, sliced them and added to the plate. came out awesome and my wife (who isn't a big fan of pasta) said she could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is awesomer than awesome. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We thought the flavor was really good, but the consistency of the sauce wasn't creamy enough for our taste, and I used full fat evaporated milk. Not sure I would make again as written, but if you're really trying to lighten calories I guess it's ok. But really, if you're worried about calories linguine carbonara really isn't something you should be cooking anyway. I'd save it for a special occasion and maybe try it with half-n-half next time. Still gets 3 stars because the flavor was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used whole wheat linguine and didn't realize I was out of crushed red pepper but it still turned out good. I feel like the sauce to pasta ratio was a bit off so next time I will use more evaporated milk and a tad more Parmesan cheese. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was a really good and quick recipe. I added a few things though. First, I sauteed a chopped onion and 4 cloves of garlic in some olive oil. Then I added a 1/2 lb of chopped ham since I didn't have any bacon. Finally, I added about a cup and a half of frozen mixed veggies. With the sauce, I used a whole 12 oz can of evaporated milk but otherwise, I made it the same as the recipe. I used small noodles instead of linguine so my 13 month old daughter could easily pick them up and eat them. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I thought this had an excellent flavor and was really quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I ommited the bacon. But this recipe was very bland, if you crave flavor this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I loved the flavor in this recipe, but I might have cooked the sauce too long, because the consistency was not all that great. Everyone did seem to like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was SO good and SO easy! The only thing I did different was use 4 slices of bacon instead of 2 and I'm sure I used more than 1/2 cup of peas. Probably closer to 1 cup. My husband loved it even though cream sauces aren't on his list of favorites (he prefers red sauces). This is definitely one that will be added to our dinner rotation!! I just had what little was left for lunch today. It's not nearly as good the second time around. So plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States