Light Lemon Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love the addition of the lemon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I love lemon and I love garlic, but this recipe had way,way too much garlic and lemon! I tried adding cream. Then I tried adding coconut oil. But it was still too sour and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
We added 3 pan fried chicken breasts to this recipe. It seemed a little dry before we served it so we deglazed the chicken pan with a little water and added that until it was the right consistency (in lieu of using the pasta water like you would if keeping this recipe vegetarian.) I think we will increase the amount of pesto by about 50% next time since we like our pasta saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe. I used the full 1/2 cup of lemon juice and it was wonderful. Yes this is a lot of garlic and the taste was amazingly wonderful, but it might be a bit much for some. In which case you can always adjust to 2 or 3 cloves if desired. This pesto is extremely delicious as a spread for panini's (mozzarella and tomato for example). 5 stars without reservation! Will make it regularly and it will be good for company. PLUS it was twice as delicious as leftover, even COLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Pretty good-nice and easy over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wonderful! I also used Parmigiano instead of the Romano. My food processor wasn't working right, so I had to use the blender, which made for a smoother sauce than I would've liked, but the flavor is excellent! The little guy helped me make this, and he was eating it by the spoonfuls, lol. I was actually dipping bread in it, and that was delicious...can't wait to try it over the pasta. I make a lot of pesto to freeze in the summer, and this is definitely going to be one recipes that I will use~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I am surprised that we didn't like this more. My family is all over pesto and garlic. For some reason the garlic overpowered our dish- to the point it was spicy, really spicy. And we could hardly taste the lemon. I made this exactly as baking nana suggested. No substitutions. I am not sure what happened but this isn't for us.- update!! Just had the leftovers and this was DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Just loved this recipe. I used Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and capellini as the pasta. After mixing the pesto with the pasta in the pasta pot I added additional grated Parmigiano and mozzarella. Then replaced the lid and allowed the cheese to soften. Will be making again. Thank you Baking Nana for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Dd had recently requested pesto and BN had just mentioned her Warning! on the Buzz so I decided to give this a whirl. I had my head in a good book so I ended up mucking this up...over cooked my pasta a tad, over processed pesto, spinach wasn't really dry enough, not enough lemon juice (so I used all the zest of the one lemon I had.) Still, with my poor execution dd gave 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Warning! There is an error! My submitted recipe calls for 1/4 cup lemon juice- I have let AR know about it - Hopefully they will be able to correct the published version, in which case I can amend this review. I recommend tossing the pesto with hot pasta so the cheese sort of melts and coats each strand. You might want to reserve a ladle or two of hot pasta water so you can add a little while tossing if you want a saucier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States