Light Fruit and Nut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Love that I can make granola low fat!!! This was a great, easy recipe that would be wonderful with a variety of dried fuits and/or nuts. I chose to use dried cranberries and the tartness was a nice compliment to the sweet granola. I really enjoyed using this in my yogurt and berry parfaits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I totally appreciate a recipe that can cut fat yet doesn't sacrifice much, if anything. This recipe fits that bill. There is a subtle difference between this and one that uses more oil and boils a syrup first, but it's not a 'step down' kind of difference. This one won't 'chunk up' because of that and seems a little drier, but has so much flavor! I was skeptical that the applesauce would produce a crisp granola, but it worked! Very crisp. Must be the flour that helps it along. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 ground flax to make up for the spelt flour I didn't have. I also left out the maple syrup I didn't have and this was plenty sweet. I added in almonds for the pecans, and dried blueberries for the apricots(topped with a few fresh for the photo). Fyi, this makes about 4 cups. Thank you so much for the recipe. It will be made often in this kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe, a favorite at our house. I generally cut the sugar in half, especially since I always quadruple the recipe for our large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't have spelt ....so I upped the ground flax seed to 1/2c.....added walnuts and sliced almonds, chopped dried dates and dried cranberries .....used only 2tblsons each of the brown sugar and olive oil....and used pure maple syrup. Excellent in my yogurt this morning! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
It was SO GOOD. I didn't have apricots, spelt, or flax, so I substituted dried cranberries, whole wheat flour, and wheat germ. Except I completely screwed up and put in 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of just three tablespoons. But it turned out incredible! The biggest problem I had in the past with making granola was that I couldn't get any of the clusters to hold together, but this one clustered up absolutely beautifully. I'm thrilled. And can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was excellent. I added dried cranberries to the mix and substituted slivered almonds for the pecans. I used about half the sugar. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was delicious. I think next time I make it I will substitute honey for the syrup (just a preference) and add different seeds and nuts. A terrific base recipe for light and healthy granola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNFIRE71
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This granola is great and very simple to make! Our almost three-year-old daughter and I had fun working on this together. I made three substitutions: Instead of spelt flour: used whole wheat flour, instead of Canola oil: used EVOO, and instead of maple syrup: used molasses. Also, we added 2 tsp of vanilla and 3 Tbs of wheat germ. Delish and nutrish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was amazing. Who would have thought something so easy could be so good. A winner with the entire family - quite a feat in my household
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Really nice with ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
My new go-to granola recipe! Super easy, no need to cook anything on the stovetop. I used ww flour, and swapped out the fruit and nuts called for for sliced almonds and blueberry craisins. Ready to make another batch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States