Light, Crisp Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Wanted to try a new recipe, this one is "awesome". Good flavor!! Some reviews state that it is too time taking to make. I am giving this HINT. While you are measuring, just get out a few more bowls, and measure 5 or 6 batches of dry ingredients at one time, place in zip lock bags store in freezer, when you want to make the waffles, just get out your premeasured dry ingredients, add the rest of the ingredients and Presto!! you can make them without a lot of time. This works well, on saving time. Also, this waffle is better with 2 Tbls. of sugar which brings out more flavor. Very Good Recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
These were awesome! The kids wanted waffles this morning and I was out of the frozen ones. I decided to make my own. I've never been able to get very crispy waffles from my waffle iron and these were crispy. The kids loved them and my oldest one wanted more. I did substitute one cup milk less a tablespoon and one tablespoon vinegar for the buttermilk. I never have that on hand. Everything else were things I always have around which makes this recipe convienent. They were a bit more work than the frozen kind but well worth it. I added mini chocolate chips to my second batch and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These were very good, everyone enjoyed them. I substituted low fat sour cream for the buttermilk without a problem. My biggest complaint is that in no way did it yield 6 waffles. A smaller complaint was the mess around me when I was done LOL! When I make it again I'll triple the recipe and *if* there are any leftovers I'll freeze them for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Really excellent. I followed the directions exactly and didn't change a thing. Worth the few extra minutes to make that is for sure. I did use white-whole wheat flour for a little more nutrition but these turned out well. I think the problem people are having with the amount of servings this recipe makes is that we as Americans have a warped sense of what a serving is - pay attention to the amount of waffle mix your grill requires and you shouldn't have a problem. Mine is two sided and takes about 1/2 cup for each side. A serving to me is one waffle, which is substantial. Top it with some fruit and you'll have a nice breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
These were very good. I only added 1/4 teaspoon of salt. If you use a belgian waffle maker the recipe it will only make 2 1/2 waffles. Next time I make them I might add a little more sugar because I like my waffles sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
wow, these did not turn out. all i could taste was saltly flavor. maybe too much cornstarch. i didnt even use the whole 1/4 cup, since that sounded too much. probably wont try it again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I was going half crazy trying to find a waffle recipe that would come close to the crispy, light German waffles I used to devour at my friends' houses in Berlin... this one cut it! I only had regular milk, so I doubled the recipe (highly recommend it) and made it one cup of milk, one cup of water (water tends to make waffles crispier). It worked great for us- thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APinkPanther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
These really are the best. I made them for a brunch/shower and had several people call for the recipe days later. Getting the egg white nice and fluffy is key and don't over-stir the batter once the egg white has been folded in. I made some in a regular waffle maker and some in a belgian waffle maker. I prefered the belgian waffles as they were crispier and had a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I waffled (ha, ha) back and forth between giving this 4 and 5 stars. It's a 4.5 star recipe. Very light and crispy, and certainly my new favorite waffle, which is why I ultimately gave it 5 stars. It's the delicate texture of the waffle, not at all heavy, which really makes this recipe stand out. But the flavor, while good, is not phenominal. Next time I make this, I'll probably add cinnamon and maybe some banana or blue berries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Thank You , We loved them .My husband and two boys and myself thought they were great . So great my teenage daughter who slept got none :( TRY THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States