Light, Crisp Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I am all for small portions, but this definitely only makes 2 waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
these were quite tasty. i used 1 T vinegar in place of 1 T milk as i didn't have buttermilk. it seemed that what ultimately made these crispy was putting them in the 200 deg oven. i would think i could achieve the same result using a less time intensive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The first words out of my kid's mouths was OMG!!! We got off the frozen waffles years ago in favor of a waffle iron and Bisquick...I decided to try something new. A little more prep time than the Bisquick method...but well worth the time. I doubled the recipe for a family of 4 but other than that followed to a T...any left overs just cook them and they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I was going half crazy trying to find a waffle recipe that would come close to the crispy, light German waffles I used to devour at my friends' houses in Berlin... this one cut it! I only had regular milk, so I doubled the recipe (highly recommend it) and made it one cup of milk, one cup of water (water tends to make waffles crispier). It worked great for us- thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APinkPanther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Great texture! Worth the extra steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedbywolves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The last time to took a waffle recipe off the net they came out like lead! I was so anxious to try this recipe; when I plugged in my Belgian waffle maker I forgot to turn it on! The batter sat while it heated up and did not suffer one bit! Anyone who's waffle-challenged is sure to come out a "star" with this recipe! (I used the 1 tbs. vinegar, minus 1 tbs. milk solution in lieu of buttermilk as suggested by an earlier reviewer, a great tip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJV573

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've been trying to find a waffle recipe that turns out at least decent. I came across this one on my search for a waffle that was low calorie (Most are 400+ per servings yikes!) and these are AMAZING! So, easy to make and turn out great! Love them I made them 2 days in a row due to making far too much batter, the day before, because I was planning on having a few friends over for breakfast and they couldn't make it. My boyfriend doesn't generally like eating the same thing two days in a row, and he was excited about having these waffles on the second day just as much as the first. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athenajade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was all ready to go out and buy a new waffle maker, because I'd decided mine didn't make crispy enough waffles... Well, I now have the PERFECT recipe for crispy light waffles. This recipe was not complicated at all. I ended up having to make a 2nd batch, because my husband and 2 kids devoured them. I did not have time to put them in the oven, and I think they were perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made these for my family tonight. Everyone gobbled them up. My husband and I both agree these are the best waffles we have every had! Thank you for sharing! Oh and I doubled the batch so I would have leftovers. I am glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
AWEsome! I didn't have buttermilk, so substituted 1 cup milk minus 1 tbsp, plus 1 tbsp vinegar. The secret really is in making sure you don't skip the "oven step". My whole family gobbled these up. Would definitely make these again, but would double the recipe right away, and freeze any leftovers. This recipe fed my husband, myself, 6 yezr old and 3 year old, but we might have had one more if we had any left!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States