Light Coconut Cream Broccoli and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Too much pepper by far! You can taste a brilliant soup hiding beneath a vicious layer of pepper here. I will make this again with a fraction of the pepper, but I used less than the prescribed amount and am kicking myself for not going with my instinct. Dangit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Way, way WAY too much pepper! I think this recipe would be delicious if we hadn't completely overdosed it with pepper. Two tablespoons means you can almost not taste anything else about it, unfortunately. We are going to try to make it again, this time with perhaps 1 or 1/2 teaspoon pepper to start, since you can always add more if needed once it's been served. Definitely cut down on the pepper, did I mention that? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
FABULOUS!! I really appreciated the previous reviews re the pepper. I'm one who follows recipes to the letter, and I likely would have added the amt of pepper called for, so my thanks to the previous reviewers for alerting me. I added the amt of pepper I would normally use in any recipe and the soup came out perfect. I LOVE this soup and it will definitely become a staple in my meal rotation. Great job!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeadsNWire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This should be renamed Pepper Soup! I cut down the amounts of both the black and red pepper, and it wasn't enough! I added carrots to make up for the broccoli that I didn't have, and left out the butter entirely. I'll try this again without any pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Hubby says this is the best vegetarian soup he's ever had! I substituted buckwheat for the barley and earth balance margarine for the butter due to allergy concerns. Per other reviews, I used 2 teaspoons black pepper and 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes - that worked out perfectly. Didn't have celery or onion so I left those out and substituted 1 T. onion powder for the onion. Excellent soup! It would probably taste even better with the celery and onion. :) Oh, and I used full fat coconut milk and 3.25 cups water with 1/4 t. red miso instead of the vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I did not really care all that much for this soup. The flavour was rather not to my liking, and there was just something about it that did not sit well with me. I will not be making this again. It is edible, but nothing more. I am, however, glad I tried it- the idea is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Stone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I just made this yummy soup and it is realy good. I didnt have coconut milk so i just some creamed coconut i had and it works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The pepper quantities are definitely typos: Should be TEASPOONS, not tablespoons. Yummy soup. I'd hoped for more coconut flavor, but I think we used extra-extra broccoli (it's fresh and bountiful), which masked the coconut flavor. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Meh. It was ok, not great but not horrible. Kids ate it so I guess thats good, but I probably will not make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corazon79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States