Light Cinnamon Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, except for pecans instead of walnuts. It's very good. Very dense from the whole wheat flour, but that way you can eat less and still feel satisfied. My first batch was kind of dry, so this time I am baking a little less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This turned out so delicious this morning!! I made a few changes based on our family size and dietary restrictions. I substituted coconut milk for milk, used egg instead of egg substitute, increased the whole wheat flour and decreased all purpose flour, used pecans instead of walnuts, and used coconut oil instead of margarine. I doubled the recipe and since I used a bundt pan, I had to increase baking time to 50 minutes. It was a huge hit with the whole family!! My two year old had two slices :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Light cinnamon coffee cake is the best of the cinnamon cakes that I've ever made or ate. Its just sooo smooth in texture and melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I am eating a warm slice as I type this. I used light eggnog instead of the milk (trying to use up holiday leftovers) and one egg instead of the egg substitute. I also added a little nutmeg in the batter. The cake is moist and full of flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My sister said that this coffee cake is way better than the store bought type! I switched the canola oil for olive oil, used 2% milk, one egg, and oatmeal instead of walnuts. I also added more butter (no margarine) to the topping and cinnamon to the batter. I put half of the topping in between the batter and the other half on top of the loaves. I thought that this recipe would make many servings, but it only produced two mini loaves. I liked that this recipe used half whole wheat flour instead of all white flour. This is a tasty, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is a must have recipe in my household. Per the original recipe, it is delicious. If you change it by adding vanilla, extra cinnamon, or fruit to the batter, it will still be amazing. This is my new go-to breakfast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I also used an egg instead of the substitute, a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple tablespoons extra sugar. I made them into cupcakes. Baked them for about 12 minutes. I could have probably baked them for 10 and they would be more moist. Turned out so yummy XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicymocha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is so close to a coffee cake I used to make, but had I no longer have the cookbook with that recipe. So glad to find this one as i could not remember it exactly! I like it this has only 1/2 c. sugar in the batter and uses 1/2 whole wheat flour. I've substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour in recipes for over 20 years, and also try to use less sugar if possible! As did others, I used an egg for the egg substitute, and I added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts and 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter, along with 1/4 tsp. ground cloves to the topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This took minutes to prepare this morning and baked up just perfectly. It was moist and the topping was just perfect. Just because I had some, I drizzled the top with leftover Allspice Cream Cheese frosting - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
GREAT! I didn't have all the ingredients needed, so i substituded vegetable oil for canola oil and used 1 whole egg and didn't use any whole wheat flour. We also used pecans instead of walnuts for the topping. Just to make it a bit sweater in the middle, i put the topping on and then took a knife and swirled it in the batter. I don't know how it serves 16, it served maybe 10, depending upon how large of pieces you cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States