Light Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Wow! I really couldn't tell the difference between these cookies and the regular (i.e. full fat) ones! They are crispy outside and chewy inside--just the way I like them. I think they are better than Mrs. Field's, and also the Award winning chocolate chip cookie recipe on this site (the one that uses instant pudding mix)...a lot less greasy and definitely not sickeningly sweet. =D I substituted butter flavored crisco for butter because crisco is supposed to make it spread less (there's no water content in crisco, unlike butter). The dough turned out a bit sticky, but the cookies turned out fabulous. I was scared initially because they looked really puffed up when I took them out of the oven, but after a while they deflated and looked just like the kind in bakeries. I was gonna try white chocolate chips, but I think it will be way too sweet when combined with this dough. So semi-sweet chocolate chips are the best choice...I used Ghiradelli's and they tasted wonderful. P.S. I baked these at 2 am in the morning after reading the reviews, and even though I am on a diet, I just couldn't resist eating a couple of them! THE BEST recipe and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This cookie had a great taste; it really satisfied my munchies. I used 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of canola oil, and it still turned out great. However, this hardened the texture, but I like crispy cookies! The taste was just phenomenal. I loved the fact that it used only 1 egg white; it lowers the amount of cholesterol in the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Very good & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
WOW!Great cookies! My husband and I love them! And let me tell ya, my husband is a hard sell on any thing "light" or "low-fat" The next time I make them I am going to try it with 1/4 cup less flour. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I switched 6 tbs butter for 3 margarine and 3 applesauce. They were reportedly really tasty, fluffy and soft... excellent recipe base to start out with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
These were the Best Cookies I have ever made. They were soft even after a few days. I will bake these again and share them at family gatherings. Awesome Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I was expecting something more from high ratings, but wasn't too impressed with this cookie. I make "regular" chocolate cookies about once a week, so maybe I can tell the difference too easily. These cookies were flat, tasted pretty good coming out of the oven, but quickly hardened and went flat. I won't make them again because of those things. The taste was okay, but for 50-100 calories more, and a few more fat grams, I'll take the original--there is no substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
My 9 year old son helped me bake these. They were delicious. The whole family loved them. I am going to try doubling the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
These babies are unbelievably soft and yummy - I can't believe they're actually "light"! My husband has dubbed these his favorite cookies - our only complaint is that the batch was too small! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I have never ever been able to bake chocolate chip cookies. Mine always came out flat, greasy and way too crisp. This was my first ever successful batch of chocolate chip cookies! I used 1 cup of packed light brown sugar and 1 yeaspoon of baking soda (because i like my cookies to be big and puffy) and i measured out the dough in 1/8th cups. They were chewy, puffy and soft - AND LOW FAT! i will definately make these again. Thanks Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States