Light Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Yum! Mine was a bit heavy on the lemon, but I didn't measure and probably did it to myself, so I don't think it's the recipe. It's a good thing I love lemon. LOL! I don't usually go out and purchase things for recipes since we have tons of food in this house, but we don't really have any chicken breasts right now, so I looked for them today at the store. I couldn't bring myself to pay for chicken breasts that weren't on sale, so I ended up with boneless skinless chicken thighs instead, but they worked just as well. I used white wine instead of vermouth since I didn't have it, and it worked just fine. I may have had the heat under the skillet up too high, bc I really had to work to get the browned bits off the bottom of the pan. Once I figured that out, it worked smoothly. I love capers, so I added more. Ate this with salad, bread, and spaghetti. I have plenty of leftovers (Bf's away) but I'm so excited about eating these leftovers, I don't even mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This has become one of my favorite recipes. The chicken is most tender if you use the yogurt, but I made it the other day without it and it was plenty good. In fact, I may stop using the yogurt all together to save the trouble and just use a meat mallet to make the chicken thin/more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe because I had bought some plain whole milk yogurt by mistake, and wanted to use it up. I did let the chicken sit with the yogurt overnight and the chicken came out wonderfully tender - my husband loved it. I made a few small changes. I did not have capers, so I added some fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce just before putting the cooked chicken back into the pan. I also sprinkled the top of the chicken with some freshly chopped chives to add a little color. I used Pinot Grigio white wine since that was all I had on hand. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This chicken had SO much flavor!! It was so simple to make! I didn't have any vermouth, so I threw some Grey Goose in instead-- incredible!! I was shocked by the flavor it packed! Such a simple recipe, so delicious! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelson825

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow, my husband and I loved this recipe! Delicious! His first reaction was "what did I do to deserve a fancy meal?" It's his new favorite dish. I made the recipe with two changes: no yogurt and substitued vermouth for leftover white wine. Instead of yogurt I used a meat tenderizer (the utensil)... it worked great. In response to another review, the amount of lemon was perfect; I would not reduce it. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was delicious, easy and relatively healthy. My man loved it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this. I've made it at least 20 times now. I do only use 1/4 cup lemon juice, and I love lemon...but 1/2 cup was to much. The yogurt marinade makes the chicken so moist. Don't skip it (but do wash it off before cooking!) And capers...I loves me some capers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We loved this, the sauce is so good and the chicken comes out nice and tender. I used white wine in place of the vermouth (didn't have). Also next time I'll cut the flour mixture in half as I wound up throwing over half of it away. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I loved the flavor of the chicken and sauce. Plus, the chicken was very tender after being in the yogurt overnight. I liked another review about using a meat mallet. I may try that in the future, but I don't have any issue with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish you won't want to miss.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States