Light Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This has become one of my favorite recipes. The chicken is most tender if you use the yogurt, but I made it the other day without it and it was plenty good. In fact, I may stop using the yogurt all together to save the trouble and just use a meat mallet to make the chicken thin/more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe because I had bought some plain whole milk yogurt by mistake, and wanted to use it up. I did let the chicken sit with the yogurt overnight and the chicken came out wonderfully tender - my husband loved it. I made a few small changes. I did not have capers, so I added some fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce just before putting the cooked chicken back into the pan. I also sprinkled the top of the chicken with some freshly chopped chives to add a little color. I used Pinot Grigio white wine since that was all I had on hand. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Yum! Mine was a bit heavy on the lemon, but I didn't measure and probably did it to myself, so I don't think it's the recipe. It's a good thing I love lemon. LOL! I don't usually go out and purchase things for recipes since we have tons of food in this house, but we don't really have any chicken breasts right now, so I looked for them today at the store. I couldn't bring myself to pay for chicken breasts that weren't on sale, so I ended up with boneless skinless chicken thighs instead, but they worked just as well. I used white wine instead of vermouth since I didn't have it, and it worked just fine. I may have had the heat under the skillet up too high, bc I really had to work to get the browned bits off the bottom of the pan. Once I figured that out, it worked smoothly. I love capers, so I added more. Ate this with salad, bread, and spaghetti. I have plenty of leftovers (Bf's away) but I'm so excited about eating these leftovers, I don't even mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Good recipe. I didn't use yogurt...just split the chicken breast, put each piece between plastic wrap and flattened with a rolling pin. Also I didn't use any lemon juice when browning chicken...I tried it but the lemon juice was burning, so I just added 1/3 juice to pan for sauce after browning. I only cooked each side of chicken for 3 mins to brown, used chicken broth instead of vermouth, and returned chicken to pan to finish cooking in sauce. Served with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow, my husband and I loved this recipe! Delicious! His first reaction was "what did I do to deserve a fancy meal?" It's his new favorite dish. I made the recipe with two changes: no yogurt and substitued vermouth for leftover white wine. Instead of yogurt I used a meat tenderizer (the utensil)... it worked great. In response to another review, the amount of lemon was perfect; I would not reduce it. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We loved this, the sauce is so good and the chicken comes out nice and tender. I used white wine in place of the vermouth (didn't have). Also next time I'll cut the flour mixture in half as I wound up throwing over half of it away. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
A bit too much lemon for my boyfriend, I liked it though. I add almost a full bag of spinach, fresh or crushed tomatoes and mushrooms to this dish and often serve it over angel hair pasta. One of our favorites in any version. I saute the shrooms then add them to the cooking sauce (they become more lemon flavored the earlier you put them in, so do it according to your taste preferences). Then I saute the tomatoes and lastly the spinach with any form of garlic and a bit of butter. Then just toss everything together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was very good. We love lemon, so it was fine for us. Didn't have any capers and didn't really miss them although next time I think I'll try it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This just didn't taste right to us. We thought the lemon was too much. I will try it again and not use as much lemon. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this. I've made it at least 20 times now. I do only use 1/4 cup lemon juice, and I love lemon...but 1/2 cup was to much. The yogurt marinade makes the chicken so moist. Don't skip it (but do wash it off before cooking!) And capers...I loves me some capers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States