Light Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Delicious! I did use more avocado than called for but that is just because I love them! My granddaughter said to serve this on a ham sandwich and you'd have Green Eggs and Ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Fabulous idea for a healthier "mayonaise". I thought that 1/2 an avocado was just right for this recipe, I'm thinking of using avocado in my tuna next time too! Thanks for a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I haven't had egg salad in years. I've been wanting to make some since I now have my own chickens. This recipe was so good. Definitely a keeper! I did use more avocado and in place of the salt & pepper, I used a squeeze of fresh lemon juice & a dash of tabasco. Thanks for sharing your recipe, K-Dub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I have made hundreds of recipes on this sight and not reviewed them, but this one I HAD to. I just made it for lunch and I will never make egg salad the old way again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
What a great addition to egg salad - avocado. I was very excited to try this recipe, and I was not disappointed. I was leery that it would bind together without any mayonnaise, but it worked great. I've made this several times to pack in my lunch. All the gals I eat lunch with asked for this recipe. Now they make their egg salad this way. The avocado adds so much flavor and depth to the salad, it just is an odd color. Thanks K-Dub for sharing your recipe. I've shared it many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very flavorful and so easy to make. I did use more avocado and used Dijon mustard as that is our preference. Absolutely delicious! Thanks K-Dub for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Great idea and execution with your own spin is a must. I do think the previous reviews are correct about avocado to egg mixture being subjective. I did three eggs to one full avocado which was perfect for me as well as adding cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
So simple yet so good! This is one of those recipes where you think "Now why didn't I think of that?". I love avocado's and have come across a breed here in Florida called Slimcado's, not quite as flavorful as the varieties I had on the West Coast but still delicious. Because of this, I did add a tiny bit of pickle relish, just for some zing! I think this would be amazing incorporated into a non-mayo potato salad:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Love, love, love. I am doing Weight Watchers and I had decided that egg salad was out of the picture for me because I CANNOT abide fat free mayo. Yech! The avocado is a perfect substitute. Adds a nice "legal" fattiness. I used spicy brown mustard, extra avocado and added finely chopped celery for a little texture and volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I thought this was a great healthy option, but I did find it a bit bland. I tried it first as written, then added some capers for some extra flavor. I do love this idea and will continue to tweak it. I think I'll try it next time with Dijon. Thank you for the healthy idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzbethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States