"Light as a Feather" Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Sorry... Hit send before review was done. I was excited about a yogurt based scone recipe, to save some calories from the traditional all-butter base. I used baking powder (not soda), and next time will reduce to 3/4 tsp as the dough was plenty fluffy. I also added 1/4 cup Craisins. Without all the butter, the texture is not as crumbly as a traditional scone, and mine really were quite dry after cooling. Might have been the addition of the Craisins, so I will add a full cup of yogurt next time to improve the moisture content when using dried fruit. Worth tweaking, to arrive at a good lower calorie scone recipe. Thanks to Paula for putting the recipe out here...I love scones, and I really want a good lower calorie version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
These are great! I made them as directed, except I used Honey Greek yogurt, and didn't brush any milk on the tops, as I am plum out of that, but anyway, they turned out light and fluffy, a real treat for the kids and me on a fall afternoon! Thanks for the delicious and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Made these for my quilt club that visited over the weekend. I usually don't lik etrying something new and giving it out when I haven't even tasted it yet, but I did that with these and they were a big hit. I even had to give someone my copy of the recipe and had to print myself a new copy. Followed the recipe exact, my only issue was the dough being realy, realy sticky. Had to add a bit of extra flour just to be able to kneed. I also used sanding sugar on top instead of just regular whit sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I used 8 tbsp of butter; instead of vanilla yogurt, which I thought I had but did not, I used strawberry yogurt, and I added 1/2 tsp of grated lemon peel. They came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Mine were more like hockey pucks. Won't make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Nice, scones as good as any others , but don't require cream, half and half, buttermilk, whole milk, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Oh my goodness. I usually sort recipes by rating or popularity, but I had some vanilla yogurt I wanted to use up and found this by the ingredient search. Do NOT let the newness of the post fool you. These were the best scones ever. I try to follow the recipe as posted the first time around and would have done so this time, however, I accidentally put the milk in with the eggs and yogurt. Ooops. Of course it created a stickier dough so I had to add a bit of flour. But the result was moist, chewy delicious scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harshaw, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Used Banana flavored chobani (because that is what I had) and added one mashed ripe banana to highlight the banana flavor. Also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry ingredients. Next time I will glaze them! Thanks for the recipe Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States