Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Nevermind the cake, this is a wonderful quick treat eaten out of miniature dishes, like a dense mousse. I do increase the cocoa. And of course, tweak it a little to taste every time. But oh, such a simple, perfect start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Following the advice of other reviewers, I doubled the recipe to frost a chocolate sheet cake, and was glad I did. Tastewise, it was fine (I'm not a chocolate fan; I made to appease the chocoholic DH) however, the mediocre rating is due to the melt factor. Even whipping my cream into stiff peaks and then adding the brown sugar and cocoa, which I'd mixed together, it didn't have the stability factor I wanted. I also refrigerated it immediately until the cake had completely cooled and it still was very "melty." I didn't want a chocolate buttercream frosting today, but that was more the consistency I was seeking. Next time I need a reliable chocolate frosting, I'll use the "Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting" found on this site and add cocoa powder. Not that this recipe was bad; it just wasn't exactly what I was looking for today. However, I never would've thought of using brown sugar in a frosting, so I appreciated the opportunity to test this out today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Made triple recipe to frost 2 layer 8" round. Was a little dry so I will add a little milk next time. Excellent semi-sweet choc flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This icing is so good. I used it today to ice the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III that I made and it was a total success! I cook Vegan, so I just substituted Coconut Milk for the Heavy Cream and it was awesome! Great recipe & so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious! I hate overly sweet butter cream frosting so I was looking for something light for my decadent chocolate cupcakes and this was perfect! It had great cocoa flavor but was nice and light. It's definitely a keeper! I also added gelatin to stabilize it and help make it last but I really think it didn't even need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I didn't have powdered sugar and this works good if you don't have it. However, I think the recipes with powdered sugar are much better. It did have perfect consistency and texture, the taste just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I kept seeing this recipe when I did searches for the ingredients I had on hand but I was sooooo hesitant to try it! I've never made frosting with brown sugar before. I finally went for it--and I am SO glad I did! This was amazing! It makes a little tiny amount--just right for an 8x8 size cake. I paired this with "my mom's chocolate cake" from this site. A great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I do not like typical frostings but this one is so yummy, if you like your frosting light and not too too sweet or rich. Tastes like chocolate whipped cream. mmmmmm. I followed other reviewers' advice and chilled my bowl and beaters before using them and it came out great. Very easy, and it's only my 2nd time making frosting. Also, I used this frosting to decorate cupcakes with Wilson tips and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
works fine with light brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
AWESOME!!!!!!!! Love it and I disagree with some of the other comments that it doesn't have enough chocolate flavor. However you should double the recipe at least. Thanks I can't wait to use it over and over again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States