Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This receipe was exactly how it was described and perfect for my son's birthday cake. He does not like heavy frosting. I have used this receipe now several times and everyone loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Caney, Texas, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Awesome frosting! I did not think it was chocolately enough and so I melted 4 squares of 70% dark chocolate and whipped it in after I had tasted the original product. I doubled the recipe because I layered two 9x13 cakes and it was just enough to frost the outside (nothing extra for the filling). I really like the texture - very smooth and not at all grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I wish I could give this 6 stars! It was very yummy and simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This frosting recipe was great. I used it on a chocolate cake with some chocolate chips to add flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Deeeeeelicious. Was great with "dark chocolate cake" from allrecipes. This recipe didn't make much frosting, though, so make sure you make enough for your whole cake (triple or quadruple the recipe for a filled layer cake!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
If you are looking for a fluffy, chocolate-y frosting, this is the one! It was perfect for my dark chocolate cake. The recipe called for unsweetened cocoa. I used Hershey's Cocoa... it did not say "unsweetened" on it. So I wasn't sure if it was sweetened or unsweetened. Anyway, it turned out delicious! A++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe deserves five stars because it turns out to be exactly what it is described to be (and it's super easy to make). I was looking for a lighter alternative to heavy, sugary frosting - this was perfect! However, it is definitely not anything like what most people consider cake frosting; this is more like a thick, fluffy whipped cream (the consistency is somewhat heavier though, and super easy to spread). And don't be scared off by the brown sugar - you can't even taste it at all, and it doesn't make the frosting gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe is PERFECT. I have never liked heavy, sugary buttercream frostings (or the stuff you get from the store in a can) and this is exactly the kind of frosting I love - light, fluffy, and not to sweet. I did double the recipe to fully frost my 9"layer cake (outside only, not filling, though I had a bit extra so I probably could've filled it too) and I also stabilized it by adding a teaspoon of gelatin that had been dissolved in 1/4 cup of water in the microwave after whipping. Wonderful! I'll be using this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Luscious!! Wow! This is the BEST chocolate frosting I have ever tasted....I have been making a chocolate frosting for years that I really like, but when I didn't have any butter or powdered sugar I went on a recipe search and found this one....Boy am I glad! This is going to replace my usual frosting recipe....SO rich, yet so light and fluffy. Perfect sweetness and the brown sugar is EXCELLENT in this frosting! Thank you for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was by far, the BEST frosting that I have ever tasted. I do not like a thick, overly sweet frosting. To me, this tasted like Chocolate Mousse. I followed the directions exactly, and would not change a thing. (Although, I may just add a splash of Amaretto next time...yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States