Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This frosting is incredible! It's so easy to make too. Definitely double it. I chilled my bowl and beater for the heavy cream added the vanilla while beating it. In a separate bowl I mixed the cocoa and dark brown sugar. As I was whipping the cream I kept adding that to the mixture. It's very easy to work with and it's not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Awesome frosting! I did not think it was chocolately enough and so I melted 4 squares of 70% dark chocolate and whipped it in after I had tasted the original product. I doubled the recipe because I layered two 9x13 cakes and it was just enough to frost the outside (nothing extra for the filling). I really like the texture - very smooth and not at all grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe is PERFECT. I have never liked heavy, sugary buttercream frostings (or the stuff you get from the store in a can) and this is exactly the kind of frosting I love - light, fluffy, and not to sweet. I did double the recipe to fully frost my 9"layer cake (outside only, not filling, though I had a bit extra so I probably could've filled it too) and I also stabilized it by adding a teaspoon of gelatin that had been dissolved in 1/4 cup of water in the microwave after whipping. Wonderful! I'll be using this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Deeeeeelicious. Was great with "dark chocolate cake" from allrecipes. This recipe didn't make much frosting, though, so make sure you make enough for your whole cake (triple or quadruple the recipe for a filled layer cake!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
the only reason i reserve a fifth star is because the frosting didnt have great texture or flavor when i used unsweetened cocoa. But after i substituted unsweetened cocoa for some instant cocoa mix i had sitting around, I lived it. I also used dark brown sugar since it seemed to bringout the vanilla flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wow. This was EXACTLY what I was looking for. Sadly.... it gets melty kinda quick so its best to use right before you serve the food its on. And I kept the cake in the fridge as well since it had cream in it. I could eat this on a million things. I used more cocoa than called for and I used dark chocolate cocoa on top of that. I think it could a little more but I was trying to get it to match a very dark chocolate cake, so it might be okay as is on a lighter cake. Definitely make this without hesitation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Wonderful - very quick and easy. Loses one star for the recipe submitters name. Last thing I want to think about when baking is maggots! YUK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This frosting is seriously the BEST I've ever made. My husband didn't want a traditionally thick frosting on his b-day cake so I searched and searched for something that was more airy and mousse-like. I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot and was not disappointed. I quadrupled the recipe to cover and fill a three layered cake. But I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. Not too sweet, just the right chocolate flavoring, great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
wow I just made this for a cake and I love it! The texture and taste are wonderful; light and fluffy like a chocolate cloud :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was by far, the BEST frosting that I have ever tasted. I do not like a thick, overly sweet frosting. To me, this tasted like Chocolate Mousse. I followed the directions exactly, and would not change a thing. (Although, I may just add a splash of Amaretto next time...yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States