Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I doubled this recipe, and it still didn't make a ton. Still, I really like it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
A nice change from most frostings. Easy to make and delicious. Just try it.... It does not make a lot, however, so try it and then make more. Remember, we all have different tastes, so make it and you will see.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I'm not one for the thick or overly sweet frostings, so I thought this was great! I actually made it to go on some brownies since I didn't feel like making a cake, it was wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very good and takes about 5 seconds to make. This recipe would be able to lightly frost 12 cupcakes. No way could it frost a cake so plan accordingly. Only negative, some people might find the chocolate flavor a little lacking. Like others I added a little melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nightowlnibbler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
the only reason i reserve a fifth star is because the frosting didnt have great texture or flavor when i used unsweetened cocoa. But after i substituted unsweetened cocoa for some instant cocoa mix i had sitting around, I lived it. I also used dark brown sugar since it seemed to bringout the vanilla flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This frosting is AMAZING! It was my first frosting from scratch to accompany my first cake from scratch (a marble pound cake) and it came out wonderflly. I had to adjust the serving size a bit though. I would at least triple the original serving size to go on a nice size cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Tastes great! Too soft to decorate with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Very light and very tasty. I doubled the recipe, because I have about 36 cupcakes, but I don't know that it was necessary as I am icing them fairly thinly. For some odd reason my vanilla is lost, so I used about 1/3 of a capful of almond extract instead. It reminds me of chocolate ice cream. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURLYGURL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
wow I just made this for a cake and I love it! The texture and taste are wonderful; light and fluffy like a chocolate cloud :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was by far, the BEST frosting that I have ever tasted. I do not like a thick, overly sweet frosting. To me, this tasted like Chocolate Mousse. I followed the directions exactly, and would not change a thing. (Although, I may just add a splash of Amaretto next time...yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States