Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wow. This was EXACTLY what I was looking for. Sadly.... it gets melty kinda quick so its best to use right before you serve the food its on. And I kept the cake in the fridge as well since it had cream in it. I could eat this on a million things. I used more cocoa than called for and I used dark chocolate cocoa on top of that. I think it could a little more but I was trying to get it to match a very dark chocolate cake, so it might be okay as is on a lighter cake. Definitely make this without hesitation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had used up all my powdered sugar on Christmas Eve and needed more to make frosting for the next morning's cinnamon rolls. And this recipe rode to the rescue! It was quick and easy and included the ingredients I had on hand. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Wonderful - very quick and easy. Loses one star for the recipe submitters name. Last thing I want to think about when baking is maggots! YUK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is great!! I'm normally a big buttercream fan and don't bake with a lot of chocolate, but needed a light chocolate frosting to decorate a darker chocolate cake. This frosting makes me want to bake with chocolate more!!! Nice consistency, not too sweet. I do agree with the doubling advice if frosting an entire cake. It's nice that I didn't have too much left over from just decorating, but it never would have been enough to frost a whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
OH My this is SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Had a sweet tooth and looked up a few ingredients here to see what I could make. Holy cow! I'm SO glad I found this recipe! It's incredibly fast to make and delicious! Saved it to my Recipe Box and will make it again and again... with or without a cake to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This frosting is seriously the BEST I've ever made. My husband didn't want a traditionally thick frosting on his b-day cake so I searched and searched for something that was more airy and mousse-like. I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot and was not disappointed. I quadrupled the recipe to cover and fill a three layered cake. But I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. Not too sweet, just the right chocolate flavoring, great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This frosting is incredible! It's so easy to make too. Definitely double it. I chilled my bowl and beater for the heavy cream added the vanilla while beating it. In a separate bowl I mixed the cocoa and dark brown sugar. As I was whipping the cream I kept adding that to the mixture. It's very easy to work with and it's not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This frosting recipe is really good. It was so easy to make and just enough sweetness. I was hesitant about it because I was frosting cupcakes so I doubled the recipe (for 24 cupcakes)and used heaping tablespoons of cocoa (some reviewers said it wasn't chocolaty enough) and I had just enough. I used a piping bag instead of frosting the entire cupcake and they look professional. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeslyn
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I quadruple the ingredients to frost a 9-inch cake and 12 tiny cupcakes.This is so easy to make and tastes great too! Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeslyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States