Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The closest recipes that I have found to the authentic waffles on the streets of Brussels. I made a 7 Serving batch. I used 2+ cups of King Arthur Bread flour, I added a tbs of Honey, 2 tsp of Vanilla, and decreased the butter to 3 tbs, which ended up being not enough. They still came out very good. I will try again and add more butter. Shh! Do not tell my wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Two types of pearl sugar. You should use Belgian not Scandinavian. Belgian softens and carmelizes whereas other pearl sugar remains hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Nice recipe but it took me a long time to find the pearl sugar in Australia. I finally found "Swaffels" online http://swaffels.com/pearl_sugar.html Perhaps this will help some of your Aussie cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really close to what I remember having in Belgium. I used smashed sugar cubes instead of pearl sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RadicalMomof3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It turned out great, even the first time I tried it. I used crushed sugar cubes because I couldn't find pearl sugar. I will order some pearl sugar to use next time, but I really loved it just fine the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would. These are the most AMAZING waffles I have ever eaten!!! Also, I couldn't find hail sugar around me and wanted to make them quickly, so I used a generic equivalent to sugar in the raw or turbanado with superb results. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it is terrific!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magical_selan
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I joined this site just to review this recipe. This is the third Liege waffle recipe I have tried- the first of which was excellent, but required you to start making them a day ahead. The second were too bland and bready. This recipe comes very close to flavor and texture of the 24 hour recipe, but in about 2 hours from start to finish. I, too, was concerned about the amount of butter, but decided to try the recipe as indicated anyway. I had no problems with too much butter, and I think it even contributes to the richness of the waffle. Perhaps the reviewer that had the butter leaking issues let their dough rise in a place that was too warm, causing the dough to "weep" butter. Overall, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Perfect!! Wanted to make some authentic Belgian waffles and this recipe was easy (as compared to some others I found on the internet). I had sugar cubes, so smashed them into little chunks the size of raisins, and it worked great instead of the pearl sugar. Nothing needed to be changed. Remember these are sweeter than normal waffles,and yeast gives them a moist yet crumbly texture- so don't expect it do be like an eggo waffle. Next time I will make dough in advance and refrigerate overnight so as to speed up the process in the am. One review said butter was too much- I disagree. It was perfect- again- these are real Belgian waffles so the excess butter when you cook them is normal. My waffle iron did get greasy, but I never needed to spray the waffle iron! I think the butter aided in having the sugar caramalize on the waffle. Again, can't compare it to the traditional American waffle. Even my kids agreed, no syrup needed. Next time I must make a fresh fruit topping for these. Also, I thought these were better when cooled- complete opposite of the "eggo" type. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe. Taste just like the liege waffles we get at a local restaurant. But they charge $3 a piece to take theirs home frozen! I couldn't find any Belgian pearl sugar locally so I took a tip from YouTube and used a manual hand-crank nut grinder to grind sugar cubes into small nuggets. It worked perfectly and is much cheaper than the pearl sugar. You NEED to make these waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These were enjoyed by the kids as well as the adults. I only had 3/4 cup butter and they came out delicious with a crispy outside and a chewy, tender crumb. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States