Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Good! The first time i tried making these i didnt have any pearl sugar, so i followed some of the alternatives from the reviews and my waffle didnt turn out great. Once i found my hands on some pearl sugar, the texture and taste was perfect! I'd also suggest adding 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the 10 waffle serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm sure this recipe is great, but I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. The result was a very grainy and yeasty tasting waffle. While the pearl sugar does sweeten the waffles, I'm not a fan of how they came out with whole wheat flour. I'll update my review the next time I make it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
not great, too thick with too little egg and I didn't get the crispy shell to form on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The closest recipes that I have found to the authentic waffles on the streets of Brussels. I made a 7 Serving batch. I used 2+ cups of King Arthur Bread flour, I added a tbs of Honey, 2 tsp of Vanilla, and decreased the butter to 3 tbs, which ended up being not enough. They still came out very good. I will try again and add more butter. Shh! Do not tell my wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Two types of pearl sugar. You should use Belgian not Scandinavian. Belgian softens and carmelizes whereas other pearl sugar remains hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Nice recipe but it took me a long time to find the pearl sugar in Australia. I finally found "Swaffels" online http://swaffels.com/pearl_sugar.html Perhaps this will help some of your Aussie cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really close to what I remember having in Belgium. I used smashed sugar cubes instead of pearl sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RadicalMomof3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It turned out great, even the first time I tried it. I used crushed sugar cubes because I couldn't find pearl sugar. I will order some pearl sugar to use next time, but I really loved it just fine the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would. These are the most AMAZING waffles I have ever eaten!!! Also, I couldn't find hail sugar around me and wanted to make them quickly, so I used a generic equivalent to sugar in the raw or turbanado with superb results. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it is terrific!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magical_selan
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I joined this site just to review this recipe. This is the third Liege waffle recipe I have tried- the first of which was excellent, but required you to start making them a day ahead. The second were too bland and bready. This recipe comes very close to flavor and texture of the 24 hour recipe, but in about 2 hours from start to finish. I, too, was concerned about the amount of butter, but decided to try the recipe as indicated anyway. I had no problems with too much butter, and I think it even contributes to the richness of the waffle. Perhaps the reviewer that had the butter leaking issues let their dough rise in a place that was too warm, causing the dough to "weep" butter. Overall, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States