Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would. These are the most AMAZING waffles I have ever eaten!!! Also, I couldn't find hail sugar around me and wanted to make them quickly, so I used a generic equivalent to sugar in the raw or turbanado with superb results. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it is terrific!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magical_selan
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I joined this site just to review this recipe. This is the third Liege waffle recipe I have tried- the first of which was excellent, but required you to start making them a day ahead. The second were too bland and bready. This recipe comes very close to flavor and texture of the 24 hour recipe, but in about 2 hours from start to finish. I, too, was concerned about the amount of butter, but decided to try the recipe as indicated anyway. I had no problems with too much butter, and I think it even contributes to the richness of the waffle. Perhaps the reviewer that had the butter leaking issues let their dough rise in a place that was too warm, causing the dough to "weep" butter. Overall, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Perfect!! Wanted to make some authentic Belgian waffles and this recipe was easy (as compared to some others I found on the internet). I had sugar cubes, so smashed them into little chunks the size of raisins, and it worked great instead of the pearl sugar. Nothing needed to be changed. Remember these are sweeter than normal waffles,and yeast gives them a moist yet crumbly texture- so don't expect it do be like an eggo waffle. Next time I will make dough in advance and refrigerate overnight so as to speed up the process in the am. One review said butter was too much- I disagree. It was perfect- again- these are real Belgian waffles so the excess butter when you cook them is normal. My waffle iron did get greasy, but I never needed to spray the waffle iron! I think the butter aided in having the sugar caramalize on the waffle. Again, can't compare it to the traditional American waffle. Even my kids agreed, no syrup needed. Next time I must make a fresh fruit topping for these. Also, I thought these were better when cooled- complete opposite of the "eggo" type. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe. Taste just like the liege waffles we get at a local restaurant. But they charge $3 a piece to take theirs home frozen! I couldn't find any Belgian pearl sugar locally so I took a tip from YouTube and used a manual hand-crank nut grinder to grind sugar cubes into small nuggets. It worked perfectly and is much cheaper than the pearl sugar. You NEED to make these waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These were enjoyed by the kids as well as the adults. I only had 3/4 cup butter and they came out delicious with a crispy outside and a chewy, tender crumb. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed these. We put strawberries and strawberry syrup on them. I ordered the Lars Belgium Pearl sugar from Amazon. It takes a whole package for one recipe. I used a wooden scewer to scrape the hardened up sugar out of my waffle iron for cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
The texture is good BUT this recipe has TOO MUCH oil in it!!!!! The dough started leaching oil as it sits and my waffle iron was flooded with a pool of oil when the waffles were cooking. A total disaster! I would say just cut back on the oil say 1/2 cup and you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Thank you sooooo much for this recipe! I was an exchange student in Belgium over 15 years ago and haven't had one of these since. These turned out just as I remebered them. I carmelized sugar as suggested by the previous reviewer as I wanted to make them right away and they turned out great. My entire family is in love with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
really really good. I found the pearl sugar at an international store yesterday and had to try them. They were so similar to the ones we had in Belgium. I think next time I'll increase the salt and the vanilla just to enhance the flavor. I served them plain and with only 4 of us here, there was only 1 left over. Next time I may serve them with ice cream for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was a hit with my friends. For the pearl sugar I caramelized the sugar over medium heat in a sauce pan then poured it out onto a cookie sheet and let it cool. Then I shattered the sheet and used the shards as the pearls. It works very well. I suggest using a medium low heat in the waffle iron. That way when you are making several waffles you will not burn the sugar from previous waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Lohre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States