Licorice Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wade
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this with 1/2 cup dark karo and a 1/2 cup of molasses and 1 Table spoon of anise extract. Great recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rexter3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Easiest recipe I have ever made for caramels... LOVE licorice.... these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just as good as Callard & Bowser yet better because it was softer and did not get too stuck in the teeth. Only problem was it stuck to the aluminum foil and the candy wrappers. I then used parchment paper and it worked. I will use parchment paper instead of the aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was my first time making a caramel or candy, and I was surprised at how easy it was. Like others suggested, I upped the anise to 1 tablespoon and stirred continuously. However, the end result was very hard candies, so I may have to try adding some cream to the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I made these for Christmas and they were fantastic! I gave them to my Dad as a gift as he's a black licorice lover and he loved them! I did add extra licorice flavoring as some other reviewers suggested and it was good but if you like licorice flavor I would suggest almost triple the extract! Overall a great caramel with a smooth texture and holds it's shape well in order to cut and roll in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
First time making this recipe. Absolutely perfect and very reminiscent of the old Callard and Bowser Licorice Toffee. Instead of extract, I used 1 teaspoon anise oil. You can find it on-line. All you need is a 1 dram bottle which is equal to 1 teaspoon oil. If using extract, I would use more than the 1 teaspoon called for. This is a wonderful recipe which will become part of my regular Christmas treat offerings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have noticed that the people that have given this recipe lower stars have had some difficulty with the recipe. The main problem that you are having is your heat. After melting your butter and adding the next ingredients, you have to crank the heat up. Sugar has to cook on high heat or it will burn before it melts. Sugar doesn't melt until it hits 225 F (sea-level) so it's going to burn on a low temp before it ever melts. The other thing is once it starts to boil, as tempting as it is, don't stir. (Just like the recipe says) Sugar is hard to work with, so don't give up if you fail a couple of times! I am a culinary student currently in an advanced baking class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I tried this for the first time after reading quite a few reviews. Here is what I did and some suggestions. I did not use foil, I sprayed the pan with "Pam" butter spray. When it was cool I just flipped it over onto a cutting board and it came out in one piece. I used a pizza cutter with "Pam" butter version on it in order to cut it. I first tried the teaspoon and thought it did not have enough licorice taste so I used a Tablespoon on the next batch. That was much better, but even though I used Watkins brand anise extract, I am going to do another batch using Anise oil, hoping that will have the "staying power" I am looking for. What I find with the extract is that the first few moments in your mouth it is exactly as I remember "Callard and Bowser", but then loses some of the flavor and tastes like a caramel. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who was a fan of the old licorice from C&B. It is very easy. I never use a thermometer, I get it to a boiling stage then set a timer for 6 minutes, and I stir constantly. After 6 minutes of boiling I take it off the heat and add the anise and coloring. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
SSSSOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States