Licorice Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
these are scrumptious! so buttery good and rich and creamy but with a hint of licorice taste. Didn't have the paste for coloring so tinted w/red food coloring for the holidays. I heated to 250degrees and they were perfect; not too soft, but nice and chewy without being tacky and sticking to the teeth. I didn't have a high quality extract(used McCormick's) and had it in the cupboard for a couple of years, so I had to use about 2 1/2 tsp of extract so adjust accordingly. Lined the pan w/parchment paper. The only thing I would do differently next time is use a 9x13 pan, as I had to do more cutting of them to get them the desired size. I didn't refrigerate; just let them sit at room temp for a few hours. They are much easier to cut than when they are hard from the fridge. thanks for this wonderful recipe that is a great addition to my holiday trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Friends and Family request this recipe year after year. I have converted more people into black licorice lovers after just one piece of caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This has got to be the best caramel I've ever had! I don't even like black licorice & this is delicious. The anise flavor isn't overwhelming & you can customize to suit your preference. I colored mine red for the holidays and am giving this as a gift to my grandmother who loves black licorice. They're simple to wrap in wax paper & look like professional candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I have never made candy or caramels, so I was nervous to make these, but they turned out so well!!! I can't believe how much they charge for each one of these in the stores when you can make a whole pan this easy!! I don't even like black licorice normally, but my mom made these first and made me try them. I was in love! The 1 tsp extract is mild enough that even if you don't prefer black licorice, you will probably like these. If you want the flavor stronger, add more extract. The last time that I made them, I made it with 1 Tbs, and I thought it was perfect! One of my co-workers husbands loves black licorice, so I made him some, and my co-worker said he liked them so much, he all but wanted to propose to me!!! LOL- he is old enough to be my dad. I have never met someone who has tried these that does not like these. Just watch the thermometer closely- it is critical you take it off the heat exactly when it says to. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So creamy and delicious! I loved the anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA
Living In: Pierre, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Pretty good licorice - says the woman who doesn't like licorice. So it must be good. Made my batch exactly as the recipe states, however, I would not recommend pouring into baking dish lined with buttered foil. Not unless you enjoy picking bits of foil out of your candy. Otherwise, this was great... I mean, really good. DH loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATE571
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Awesome Candy!I followed the recipe as written.It is important to follow the cooking instructions exactly.I wrapped the candies in parchment paper.This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
These caramels are really delicoius but they didn't taste very licoricey. I had to use anise oil because I couldn't find anise extract. They were also kinda hard to make if you don't have a candy thermometer. Overall pretty good. *UPDATE* I made these again for book club, in a microwave and dipped apples in it while it was still warm. Then drizzled them in chocolate and added pecans. As my friend said, "If you could fall in love with food this would be my soulmate."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe is amazing. Everyone loves it, even those who dislike licorice. Make sure you use black paste coloring, the black liquid from grocery store makes it brownish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANFRANCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These are the best caramels. All that needs to be said has been already said in previous reviews. However, I am having a scorching problem. I have a gas semi professional range and my btu's are very high. I cooked the caramels on low and it was too hot. I turned them down to simmer and it seemed like after getting to about 238 degrees or so, the thermometer didn't move. I have tried turning down the heat in the middle of cooking, but that makes the butter separate. I have tried stirring occasionally, but it seems that from 240 to 248 is where they start to burn. If any one knows the answer, I need help on this. Also, I am interested in the suggestion of using the microwave...how long etc. And one more thing, can I use caphalon or something like it for boiling caramel? Help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States