Licorice Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This is my husbands all time favorite candy ever!!! The licorice flavoring is very subtle - even those who dislike licorice will love this candy. You can also subsitite the anise flavoring with vanilla if desired. It is so easy - mix all together, bring to temperature, and then pour in pan to cool - by morning they are ready to be cut into perfect squares and wrapped in wax paper. They keep their shape at room temperature. I cannot say enough good about this recipe!!!! One suggestion I have for a twist is this: after pouring the caramel into a pan to cool, place Lorna Doone shortbread cookies all over the to - covering all the caramel. next day, cut the caramel into perfect squares around each cookie. Then, dip the candy into melted chocolate - let firm and then you have a homemade twix bar - but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Without a doubt this is the very best recipe for licorice. It is soft, chewy and if you use very good anise it is beyond descripton. I use Watkins Anise for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
these turned out perfectly - the anise flavor is subtle. I don't think it's necessary to use black food coloring, though I special ordered it...it psychologically adds to the presentation because the black matches the anise flavor! The most labor-intense part of the recipe is definitely cutting and wrapping the individual pieces - it makes a way bigger batch than you'd think in that 9x9 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
If you are trying to duplicate Callard & Bowser - this is it exactly! However, after scorching the pan the first time, I had to stir continuously and it took an hour over medium heat to reach the right temp, so be careful with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Friends and Family request this recipe year after year. I have converted more people into black licorice lovers after just one piece of caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
these are scrumptious! so buttery good and rich and creamy but with a hint of licorice taste. Didn't have the paste for coloring so tinted w/red food coloring for the holidays. I heated to 250degrees and they were perfect; not too soft, but nice and chewy without being tacky and sticking to the teeth. I didn't have a high quality extract(used McCormick's) and had it in the cupboard for a couple of years, so I had to use about 2 1/2 tsp of extract so adjust accordingly. Lined the pan w/parchment paper. The only thing I would do differently next time is use a 9x13 pan, as I had to do more cutting of them to get them the desired size. I didn't refrigerate; just let them sit at room temp for a few hours. They are much easier to cut than when they are hard from the fridge. thanks for this wonderful recipe that is a great addition to my holiday trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This has got to be the best caramel I've ever had! I don't even like black licorice & this is delicious. The anise flavor isn't overwhelming & you can customize to suit your preference. I colored mine red for the holidays and am giving this as a gift to my grandmother who loves black licorice. They're simple to wrap in wax paper & look like professional candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Pretty good licorice - says the woman who doesn't like licorice. So it must be good. Made my batch exactly as the recipe states, however, I would not recommend pouring into baking dish lined with buttered foil. Not unless you enjoy picking bits of foil out of your candy. Otherwise, this was great... I mean, really good. DH loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I have never made candy or caramels, so I was nervous to make these, but they turned out so well!!! I can't believe how much they charge for each one of these in the stores when you can make a whole pan this easy!! I don't even like black licorice normally, but my mom made these first and made me try them. I was in love! The 1 tsp extract is mild enough that even if you don't prefer black licorice, you will probably like these. If you want the flavor stronger, add more extract. The last time that I made them, I made it with 1 Tbs, and I thought it was perfect! One of my co-workers husbands loves black licorice, so I made him some, and my co-worker said he liked them so much, he all but wanted to propose to me!!! LOL- he is old enough to be my dad. I have never met someone who has tried these that does not like these. Just watch the thermometer closely- it is critical you take it off the heat exactly when it says to. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
These caramels are really delicoius but they didn't taste very licoricey. I had to use anise oil because I couldn't find anise extract. They were also kinda hard to make if you don't have a candy thermometer. Overall pretty good. *UPDATE* I made these again for book club, in a microwave and dipped apples in it while it was still warm. Then drizzled them in chocolate and added pecans. As my friend said, "If you could fall in love with food this would be my soulmate."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States