Licorice Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Tried these tonight and they did not turn out. I didn't stir after they came to a boil and the bottom of the pan scorched. I have very heavy bottomed cookware but as one reviewer stated if you don't stir it constantly it will scorch. I am trying another one now and hope for better luck. Did have good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I been looking for this type of licorice..for a couple of years. I followed the recipe and advice to jack up the anise a little, it turned out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I wanted a strong black licorice flavour so I went with the 1 tbsp of extract and ended up eyeballing another good dollop of extract to get what I wanted and I still could have added more. Very good candy recipe however for caramels. The only puzzling thing was the direction that said "without stirring". On medium heat, I got little dark chunks that almost looked like it was scorching but upon tasting, it wasn't burned. I couldn't stand there and not stir so I stirred until I got to the correct temperature. Very tasty and the recipe makes tons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
As noted in the recipe, I didn't stir the ingredients and they burned (at a low temp). This was and expensive lesson. The second time, I stirred the entire time and the result was wonderful caramels; though I would recommend using more anise extract than 1 tsp. as the flavor is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I love licorice and have been looking for a long time for a good recipe. If fact, it has been hard to even find a recipe. This one is awesome. I increased anise to 1 Tbsp because I like a stonger flavor. Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It was a lot of work, and I don't love black licorice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These are the best caramels. All that needs to be said has been already said in previous reviews. However, I am having a scorching problem. I have a gas semi professional range and my btu's are very high. I cooked the caramels on low and it was too hot. I turned them down to simmer and it seemed like after getting to about 238 degrees or so, the thermometer didn't move. I have tried turning down the heat in the middle of cooking, but that makes the butter separate. I have tried stirring occasionally, but it seems that from 240 to 248 is where they start to burn. If any one knows the answer, I need help on this. Also, I am interested in the suggestion of using the microwave...how long etc. And one more thing, can I use caphalon or something like it for boiling caramel? Help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATE571
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Awesome Candy!I followed the recipe as written.It is important to follow the cooking instructions exactly.I wrapped the candies in parchment paper.This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe is amazing. Everyone loves it, even those who dislike licorice. Make sure you use black paste coloring, the black liquid from grocery store makes it brownish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANFRANCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So creamy and delicious! I loved the anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA
Living In: Pierre, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States