Licorice Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I love this recipe! I accidentally cooked my first batch too long and was going to throw it out but instead I broke it up and gave it as "coal" to select friends at Christmas. Even that was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, but I followed this recipe exactly and my caramel turned out too hard and it is granual from the sugar. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
FABULOUS RECIPE!! Thank you sooo much. I was looking to duplicate the licorice caramels my grandmother used to get from Fannie May, and with a full ounce of anise extract, I nailed it! Also, I put a little in a dish before adding the anise and black coloring, and the caramel is DELISH! Making a batch of those now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Two words: Oh yeah! Fabulous. I reduced the recipe to 32 servings for my first attempt, added another fat tsp of anise extract, and followed directions. Stirred the entire way through to protect from burning and ...wow. I thank you so much. I tried Walkers in England and you know? These are so much nicer as the are home made. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FairBecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
loved it, cannot find Callard & Bowser much now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Tasty. I just made this recipe in the microwave. I just cooked for a minute at a time, over and over, until it hit the "firm ball" stage, which I think I hit pretty well. Here's what I'll do differently next time: 1. Make only half the recipe - unless I'm planning on giving most of it away. It make a LOT! 2. Use more black paste food coloring. I used about 1/4 teaspoon, and it made it a dark brown. 3. Use even more anise flavoring. I doubled it (I put in 1/2 teaspoon of anise oil, which is the equivalent of 2 teaspoons anise extract) but I think adding even more would be better. I skipped the aluminum foil based on recommendations, and didn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
One of my favorite candy recipes; even my friends who hate licorice love these. They're buttery and delicious, with a subtle anise flavor. They are, however, prone to scorching even in a heavy-bottomed pan, so be careful to continue stirring while you heat them! If you happen to scorch them anyway, the burnt bits can be removed by pouring the hot caramel through a sieve into the prepared pan. (I prefer to use a plain buttered pan with no foil; I found it was hard to get all the foil away from the cooled caramel without it ripping.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiraseldon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Mine turned out quite hard but softened in the mouth. Cooked it until 120 C. I used Sambvca liquor for flavoring (1 Tbsp) (I would use more next time or combine it with anise extract for a more pronounced flavor); I did not have anise extract on hand. Will make again but cook to a lower setting for a softer candy. I used buttered parchment paper in my 9 x 13 inch pan. Had no problems with sticking to candy. Wish my grandmother was here to enjoy these since she was the one who turned us on to Callard and Bowser when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
If you like a strong licorice flavor use more extract. I used 1 tbsp and it still wasn't as strong as I'd have liked. It does have a very good after taste though. I know the instructions say to not stir, but I LOVE making caramels and have always stirred mine most of the cook time. Also I highly recommend using a wooden spoon. All in all it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe, but I like more licorice flavor. I substituted 1/2 oz. anise oil. Wow! Nothing better! I also need to stir mine constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States