Lick Your Lips Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I wish the instructions were more specific, I used very little juice frome the oranges as the can said they were packed in light syrup. I instead addeed some water as the cake mix box said. I also used cheesecake pudding mix, with I think made it absolutely delicious. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
this is what is called Pig Picking Cake in the South....Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
When I made the cake part, I added in one teaspoon of pure vanilla extract and one teaspoon of almond extract. For the frosting, I folded in about a cup of toasted coconut. My family LOVED this cake--I swear, there's only a couple pieces left and I made it two days ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by girl's best friend
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I would've given this 5 stars, but I'm not one for clumps or small bit of anything in my icing except icing. I saw that I might not be a big fan of the icing, but I decided that I should stick to the recipe exactly the first time I made it. I did what others did: put PAM on it before pouring in the batter. The cake was delicious. I loved this and will be making it again, but this time without the pineapple in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girl's best friend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was awesome! I sprayed the pan with Pam, as it doesn't say whether to grease it. I think it probably needed some flour also. I didn't know whether the juice from the oranges went in or not. Some did, some halved it. I used it all with a Butter golden cake mix as I couldn't wait to make this. I had to bake it a little longer and when I touch tested it the middle sank. The cake is light, airy, and moist. A little crumbly, that may be the difference in the juice or the cake mix I used. It also looks like it is going to stick to the pan in places. All in all, a great light refreshing taste. This would make a delicious summertime treat. Thanks Denise B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Excellent taste and moist cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colora1164

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
We call this Can't Stop Eating Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
MIX IT ALL IN ONE BOWL! I have made this cake for years but one time I accidentally put the pineapple and pudding mix in with the cake mix and oranges and eggs. I went ahead and baked it just for fun and we loved it much better this way and I have done it that way since. Is is more flavorful. We top it with plain Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I've made this cake according to the recipe the first time, and it was delicious. I'm making one right now and made sure there were whole segments of mandarin oranges in the batter as well as crushed up. This time, however, I don't have any crushed pineapple for the topping, and only had big cans of mandarin oranges, so I split the amount of oranges exactly in half, using one half in the batter and the other in the topping. I also used lemon pudding instead of vanilla. It's very good, but just a bit sweeter than the vanilla. Very good recipe, nice and light option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I don't like chunks of anything so the frosting needed more blending to my taste, but the flavors on both the cake and frosting are great. 5 yr old approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States