Libby's® Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Made this with Egg Beaters, Splenda/Sugar mixture, 1 cup whole wheat of the 3 cups flour, and 1/2 c. oil +1/2 cup applesauce. Soaked my dried cranberries in OJ for about 10 min., then microwaved that mixture for 30 seconds. That helped plump up the berries and gave them a tasty moist texture. I think you could get away with reducing the sugar by 1/2 cup. Thanks to reviewer "Bronwyn" for the spice amounts. Just perfect. I may try this recipe using Agave light syrup next time. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Excellent! I did cut the sugar down by 1/3. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great!!! Substituted half brown sugar for the sugar, and did half the oil to add half cup applesauce. I will be adding more cranberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Excellent bread recipe. So moist and yummy. I did take some suggestions from other members in that I replaced part of the white sugar for brown and I also added pecans. I think next time I will also double the cranberries. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nastia
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The taste was great, really moist and delicious. I followed the recipe pretty close, the only things I changed were: use fresh pumpkin pure (a little bit less than 2 cups), I used 3/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup of orange juice and I created my own pumpkin pie spice (the recipe is on this site). My only issue (and I think that was on me) that all my cranberries were on the top of the bread and I have no idea why :( I think if these were in the middle as they are supposed to be - it would be perfect... Will have to try again to fix it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made 12 loaves of this bread for Thanksgiving this year, and each and every one turned out perfectly! I now, after many years of trying various recipes, have my new pumpkin bread recipe I'll keep forever. I followed the recipe except for reducing the oil to 3/4 cup and adding a small (lunchbox size) cup of applesauce (approx. 1/2 cup size). I also used the whole fresh cranberries and added 1 cup of chopped pecans. The bread was moist and the perfect blend of sweet and tart (the cranberries!). It keeps very well. Don't be alarmed by throwing in the whole cranberries...they cook down nicely! And the amount of spice, which seems like a lot when you're adding it, is perfect in the finished bread. I also followed the recipe for making my own pumpkin pie spice on this site, which turned out great. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
this is a very good basic pumpkin bread recipe that can easily be customized. i made a number of subs as suggested by many: 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 unbleached white, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup apple sauce; 2 cups fresh cranberries instead on 1, 1 cup pecans, 1 cup coconut, 1/2 cup molasses, 2 1/2 cups organic sugar, no orange juice, everything else the same. it turns out moist and firm for easy cutting and a nice rich amber color too. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is very easy to make and very good! I do not use pumpkin pie spice instead I add :2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger and a couple of dashes of ground cloves. I also add another 1/2 cup cranberries so I can make 2 batches at once and use a whole bag of cranberries. It freezes wonderfully too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My family really liked this bread. I didn't change anything in the recipe, but the next time I think I'll add more cranberries. This would make a nice bread for gift giving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States