Libby's® Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I was looking for a pumpkin bread with cranberries to use with Ibby's Pumpkin Bread Suffing for Thanksgiving - (fantastic). I doubled the recipe and made four loaves. Baked two in glass, two in foil. Those in glass came out with sides burnt. The two in tin came out perfect inside and out. Here's a great tip I hope you find useful: Pumpkin Pie Spice can be pricey and this recipe uses quite a bit of it. A recipe is posted by Jacquie: Pumpkin Pie Spice II - 1 teas cinnamon, 1/4 teas nutmeg, 1/4 teas ginger and 1/8 teas cloves - all ground, combined. I use it all the time now with great success. Thanks Jacquie. Also, I double the cranberries and use 3/4 oil, and 3/4 orange juice. Of ALL the sweetbreads I have ever baked, this one gets the most raves. In the end, this is the one that people want during cranberry season. This is your gift bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Great recipe! I used 1 cup of butter instead of the oil, and increased the (fresh) cranberries to 1 1/2 cups. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice on hand so I used this simple mix: 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1 teaspoon allspice. It turned out perfectly. Things to try next time for fun: add orange zest and/or chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was a Thanksgiving favorite! I enjoyed it so much that I am going to make small loafs to give out for Christmas! I just tweaked the recipe a little, by substituting 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, and 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 cups of regular sugar. I used 1/2 cup of apple sauce and 1/2 cup of oil to reduce the fat which made it so moist and flavorful. I also added a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, and doubled the amount of fresh cranberries. It was very easy to make and the house smelled wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Great! Chopping the cranberries in a food processor is super fast. Note that the second time I made this, I didn't have any orange juice on hand, so I substituted apple juice, and added 2 tsp. grated orange peel. It was fantastic! Actually, I think adding grated orange peel would be wonderful regardless of whether you use orange juice or apple juice. The third time I made this, I didn't chop the cranberries in a food processor, rather, I cut them in half (was pretty in the bread!), and used 1/2 cup applesauce + 1/2 cup oil instead of 1 cup oil. Turned out super moist! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I have made this twice. The texture of the bread is great. The loaves look and taste wonderful. The first time I used frozen cranberries but I don't like how they get mushy. The next time I made this recipe I used the orange flavored dried cranberries. It turned out great. Next time I will add more that one cup. Two would be great. This recipe is a keeper. Make sure your pumpkin spice is fresh. I like Penzey's spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Was good, but I did alter the recipe. I substituted 1 c of brown sugar for white, 1/2 c nuts, 3/4 c oil, 1 Tb. baking powder, 2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp. each of ginger, cloves, and nutmeg. As someone else said, the contrasting flavor of sweet and tart is very interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This is so good! I've made this recipe a couple of times and everyone just loves it. I substitute half of the oil with apple sauce to cut down on the fat and walnuts for a little crunch. 10/18/09 I still make this a couple of times a year and it's always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Excellent! I had many requests for this recipe! I sliced the fresh cranberries in half and I added a cup of chopped walnuts. Will definitely make this again! Great for gifts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Oh yeah...I've been making this bread for quite some time and it's wonderful. The orange juice gives it a unique taste. My mother was the one who introduced this to me. Actually, she sent me several loaves of this in the mail (she's in TX and I'm in VA). Needless to say, by the time it reached me it was still very very moist!! Makes wonderful Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I have been using this recipe for a few years, and it is still my favorite. I absolutely love cinnamon, and for all you cinnamon lovers out there, I have a suggestion. Rather than put cranberries in the bread, I have put cinnamon chips in the bread. You can find cinnamon chips near the chocolate chips in the store. It is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States