Lew's Famous Lobster Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe won me first place in a cooking competition! It's a great base recipe that you can add your own spin to. I used the chicken stock as listed, but enhanced it by adding clam juice and simmering with the lobster heads (I couldn't let them go to waste). I also added a splash of cognac, used half-and-half for a slightly creamier texture, and threw in fresh herbs right before pouring the mixture in the pie pan (you can use parsley, thyme, tarragon - whatever you like). When lobster season is over I'll try a seafood medley, perhaps with scallops and shrimp. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I really loved this recipe, I also cheated with imitation lobster and added a healthy amount of sherry, but it turned out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
made this as a romantic dinner for valentine's day. my husband absolutely loved every bite & so did I. it was worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is so good and easy to make. Comfort food with a twist of elegance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wow!! I don't usually make recipes with only a few reviews, but I sure am glad I made this one!! I have been looking for a lobster pot pie recipe & this one is perfect!! I made as written but substituted the lobster with precooked snow crab legs & precooked shrimp from the seafood counter at my grocer because it was much cheaper than buying lobster (and just as good in my opinion). Since my seafood was precooked it eliminated steps 2-4, which really saved on time! For the potato I used one medium sized red potato & left the skin on. I used skim milk & it still thickened up nicely. I used a frozen deep dish pie crust & put the pre-made refrigerated crust over the top. Oh, I did use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this vegetarian for my daughter. This is absolutely fabulous!!! I also made the Chicken Pot Pie IX from this sight for my husband which has a 5 star rating with over 5400 reviews & this is just as good if you love seafood as I do!! Will make this often, thank you for the post!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this last night and it was fantastic. Lobsters are relatively cheap this year and I was able to get some on sale. Added sherry to the sauce and used half and half instead of milk. Talk about decadent! My husband, who never comments about anything was asking if I could make it again when our daughter comes home for Thanksgiving. Would also be great served in puff pastry !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very good ...I had the same issue as the first poster...5 lobster tails would be great but we don't live in Maine and lobster was very expensive. I didn't sink to faux lobster....but at my store lobster was expensive and snow crab clusters were on sale cheap so I used half lobster and half snow crab. I also added 1tb of sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
YUM, YUM, AND MORE YUM!!! I loved this recipe and even though, all I had was an imitation lobster (I know...I know....)it was just delicious. I followed the recipe for the most part, since my "lobster" was fully cooked, that eliminated a step, I also added mushrooms to the veggies, and a dash of dry sherry to the sauce. Very rich, very filling, and very quick to put together. Next time I'll do it the right way and use real lobster and make my own crust, but when in a hurry, this fit the bill. Thank you so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States