Lettuce with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This review is for the dressing only. I was looking for a dressing similar to one my mother made a couple of years ago for us. My mom couldn't find the cookbook so I came here hoping to find something similar. We loved it! It was so easy and delicious. I used it to dress a spinach salad with mushrooms, red bell pepper, feta cheese, and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I'm always looking for new salad recipe's. This was excellent, everyone loved it. I also served it w/ spinach, but I know it would be good on almost any greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My fiance and I don't like creamy dressings, so we gave this a try and both loved it and were surprised that we enjoying eating salad! We've since used the dressing on other salads. Our favorite is a spinach and red leaf lettuce salad with lots of tomatoes and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
really not fair for me to rate. I used turkey bacon which does not produce much grease. Don't make my mistake use real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Delicious! My mom used to make lettuce with hot bacon dressing all the time, but never added any other veggies. I liked it and I love this with the additions. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My husband is Polish and we live in Pennsylvania Dutch country, so we are very familiar with Hot Bacon Dressing and it is a must have at Thanksgiving. I have never liked it, so I thought I'd try this recipe because it sounded just slightly different from our traditional recipe. Everyone loved it! It was a big success. It has a very light, slightly sweet flavor to it, considering it's made with bacon grease. I will make this every Thanksgiving. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Excellent! Did not use radishes. Used spinach instead of lettuce. Used turkey bacon as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was too greasy for my taste. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Really good! I worked some years ago in restarants in Wisconsin, and this dressing was always a staple. My husband couldn't say enough and my 3 and 5 year olds even loved it. I served it on fresh spinach leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
We all loved this over spinach salad but because bacon has enough of it's own sodium, I left out the salt entirely. Not something I would make very often, but once in a while, it's nice to indulge! Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States