Lettuce with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a delicious salad that my Pennsylvania Dutch family has been eating for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotNReady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Absolutely fabulous - but I used cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjclay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made enough to serve 16 and only had a few forkfuls of salad leftover at the end. It was a HUGE HIT. Even the picky eaters enjoyed this (I was yelled at for throwing out the leftovers) I did make some changes to this recipe. First I used thick cut bacon. Then it says to reserve bacon grease, I felt that there was too much so I only saved some and added more vinegar than was called for, for flavor. I also added lightly toasted pecans. I used three bags of different mixed lettuces. Amazing!! Next time I will try to add some cheese and croutons. A definite MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I just had a dressing like this in my favorite local restaurant! They served it over mixed baby greens with warm beets, goat's cheese and walnuts. I pretty much duplicated it at home with the dressing from this recipe. Yummy, yummy! In other words, it is versatile, and goes beyond just the green salad. I'm thinking it would be great over other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe as posted, but found it awfully sweet. I could not taste the bacon, nor the bacon fat...what a shame. Next time I will use at least half the directed amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
great tasting salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My husband really liked it, me not so much. I thought the dressing was too bland and after it cooled the bacon grease got kind of thick and simply coated the greens. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Sorry but this was way too salty and I like salt! I even made this with spinach add it was still bad. I would recommend just doing a spinach salad with egg and bacon and then putting a balsamic vineger dressing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I really loved this. I made it as directed, except I kept half the bacon out to sprinkle on at the end - AND I overcooked my hardboiled egg so I had to kill it. The caramelized onions and bacon with the vinegar are deeelicious. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
We loved this! My husband had second helpings. I used turkey bacon, so this was a great and healthy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States