Lettuce with Buttermilk Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Love the tang, but a bit sweet for my taste. A good basic recipe -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent! I added three or four cloves of minced garlic (to doubled recipe). Thanks, Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was looking for a salad like my grandmother used to make when I was a kid and this is it. Great flavor easy to make. I added onion, tomatos and cheese. It was great. I am making it again tonight for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good and easy! I will be using this often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
my husband really enjoyed this, thanks for the great recipe! ETA: one year later, this is still a favorite in our house, great for all the fresh springtime lettuce from our organic CSA. I used homemade whole egg mayonnaise (recipe also from this site), local buttermilk, and subbed live Bragg's Apple Cider Vinegar for the white, for added probiotic help. I double the recipe when I make it now because we love it so much. I just put everything in a pint sized mason jar, give a little stir and then shake it up. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very handy base recipe. I made this to accompany fried pickles (recipe on this site) and lamb kebobs. It was delicious! People ate it up and commented on how delicious it was. I did not use the sugar nor a sugar substitute. I flavored it with garlic powder and dried dill and it was great. UPDATE: I have eaten this dressing day after day since I found the recipe. I am a reluctant salad eater, but this dressing + plain ol' lettuce has become a go-to lunchtime side for me! The second time I made it, I didn't even include the vinegar (because I forgot). I just used buttermilk, mayo, garlic powder, and dried dill. So delicious. It's the only salad dressing I need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This buttermilk dressing is wonderful. Perfect made as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I had some buttermilk that needed to be used up and found this easy dressing recipe. I had to fiddle with the quantity of the ingredients just a bit to get exactly what I wanted but it's very tasty and I will use it again. Thanks for sharing Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Sweet, tangy dressing - next time I'll cut back on the sugar. This was great over cucumbers. Very simple and can be easily modified with fresh dill, chives, or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is great!!! Made it several times already. Used splenda granulated to replace sugar and romaine lettuce leaves. Can't get enough of it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States