Lettuce with Buttermilk Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Love the tang, but a bit sweet for my taste. A good basic recipe -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent! I added three or four cloves of minced garlic (to doubled recipe). Thanks, Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was looking for a salad like my grandmother used to make when I was a kid and this is it. Great flavor easy to make. I added onion, tomatos and cheese. It was great. I am making it again tonight for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good and easy! I will be using this often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
my husband really enjoyed this, thanks for the great recipe! ETA: one year later, this is still a favorite in our house, great for all the fresh springtime lettuce from our organic CSA. I used homemade whole egg mayonnaise (recipe also from this site), local buttermilk, and subbed live Bragg's Apple Cider Vinegar for the white, for added probiotic help. I double the recipe when I make it now because we love it so much. I just put everything in a pint sized mason jar, give a little stir and then shake it up. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very handy base recipe. I made this to accompany fried pickles (recipe on this site) and lamb kebobs. It was delicious! People ate it up and commented on how delicious it was. I did not use the sugar nor a sugar substitute. I flavored it with garlic powder and dried dill and it was great. UPDATE: I have eaten this dressing day after day since I found the recipe. I am a reluctant salad eater, but this dressing + plain ol' lettuce has become a go-to lunchtime side for me! The second time I made it, I didn't even include the vinegar (because I forgot). I just used buttermilk, mayo, garlic powder, and dried dill. So delicious. It's the only salad dressing I need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This buttermilk dressing is wonderful. Perfect made as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I had some buttermilk that needed to be used up and found this easy dressing recipe. I had to fiddle with the quantity of the ingredients just a bit to get exactly what I wanted but it's very tasty and I will use it again. Thanks for sharing Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Sweet, tangy dressing - next time I'll cut back on the sugar. This was great over cucumbers. Very simple and can be easily modified with fresh dill, chives, or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is great!!! Made it several times already. Used splenda granulated to replace sugar and romaine lettuce leaves. Can't get enough of it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States