Lettuce Leaf Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Cut lettuce up and made mine a taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Worcester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
It's really hard to rate a taco that uses a basic taco filling. I mean a taco is a taco. For creativity, I give it 5 stars. The shape of the romaine leaf, along with its sturdiness makes a perfect substitute for the carb watchers that don't want a tortilla shell. I'm not sure why the peppers and onions are sauteed and served as a topping other than to please a picky eater. I'd much rather save a step and cook them in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Lettuce Leaf Taco Haiku: "No surprise, they're great! 5-star reviews in order. Fun and colorful!" Only very minor changes that I made were using 4 TB of AR's "Taco Seasoning I" instead of 3, and not adding the optional chicken broth to the veggie saute. (Alot of the reviews mention this being an "April 2015 Recipe Group Selection" - what does that mean?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Recipe Group: This was yummy! I was feeling cheap so I subbed ground turkey for the beef. I loved the salt on the tomatoes :) The romaine didn't look so good at the store, so we used green leaf lettuce. Turned out messy but a fun and tasty take on taco night, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made these for recipe group this week. We liked the idea and I would consider it a good replacement on the day I feel the need to cut carbs or just find myself without shells unexpectedly. I used homemade taco seasoning and added toppings of guacamole and FF Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Recipe Group Selection: 18, April 2015 ~ Great recipe - I loved it. Hubs asked "Where in the heck is the taco shell?" He ate four on the lettuce shell, so I don't think he really missed the flour tortilla! This came together quickly and was super easy to make. I liked the less calories without the shell, but added them to the meal with the side dishes! It was served with 'Quick and Easy Guacamole', 'Refried Beans Without the Refry' from AR and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
For the Recipe Group April 2015...I made these with ground chicken, they were yummy and easy. I liked all of the veg in there. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Recipe Group Selection 4/17/2015 – This is delicious and light, with plenty of flavor. It makes a very healthy meal so there’s no guilt in having extra desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Made this for Recipe Group...These were a HIT (and healthy too)! I did mess up and cooked the meat w/ the peppers and onions, so I just added the taco seasoning to that mixture. It didn't specify if you should add the water that you usually add w/ the taco seasoning, but I did add a bit just to loosen everything up and get it combined well. The romaine lettuce at the store didn't look too good, so I subbed some beautiful butter lettuce instead, which worked out great! Served with 'Easy Refried Black Beans' and Copycat Chipotle(R) Cilantro-Lime Brown Rice', both from this site. I will def be making tacos like this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Used turkey and added some chunky salsa . . . 1/4 cup? . . . otherwise followed the recipe as written. Loved the idea and taste. Thanks for a wonderful idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States