Lettuce and Tarragon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent!!! Lots of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
OMG, who would have thought *lettuce* soup would taste so darn good! I used a romaine, leeks and tarragon from my garden. The lettuce was a little tough from being left in the ground too long, so I had to find another use for it besides salad. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I cut the unsalted butter to 2 tbsp., used low sodium chicken broth, and I only added 1 tsp. of salt, which was the perfect amount in my opinion. I also did not blend it, preferring to leave it chunky, and I'm glad I did it that way. No yogurt or sour cream needed! It's fantastic as is. You definitely have to like tarragon, though, which I do. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The soup was lovely! A perfect light soup for summer, when your garden is producing so much lettuce that if you see another salad you'll scream:) I used all the lettuces that were getting to large. Meuslun mix, romain and butter/bib. Had no leeks so used a combo of a bit of onion and some scallions. 3 small cloves of comfey garlic, salted butter and organic chicken stock, so added no salt till just before serving. It needed a pinch, along with the pepper. I always use an immersion blender, easier and mess/cleanup. The tarragon was a terrific touch, though I wonder what adding mint one time would be like, having way more mint growing then the tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is amazing. Wonderful, interesting flavors, and you can use any green leafy veggie instead of lettuce. Kale or collard greens are great to use for extra nutrition; just increase your cooking time to ten minutes instead of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Wow, suprisingly delicious and easy! I added halved cherry tomatos the last 5 minutes of cooking (after pureeing it), bits of crisp bacon, and shredded Fontana cheese; the recipe doesn't need it at all, but it was even more delicious! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supertruckingirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I really liked this soup. My tarrigon was late season in a dry year, so I cut it back to about half the suggested amount. And I added a dollup of plain yogurt (sour cream would do as well) to the soup after dishing into the bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
just try it. i dont cook a lot but this is very easy and tastes fantastic, and everyone else thinks so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was delicious. Lovely green color makes for a wonderful presentation & the flavor is superb. Very quick & easy to make too. Fresh tarragon is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
It's really good but I thought it needed a little more flavor. I added some curry powder, more garlic, a hit of Worcestershire sauce and fresh parm cheese. I really love a warm sloppy green in my soup, so I did not fully blend it. The larger chunks of lettuce gave you something to chomp into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snacky
Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Delicious! The flavor is wonderful. I did not have leeks on hand so I used onions instead. It turned out very tasty and froze well. What a great way to use up an abundance of leafy greens! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States