Lettuce and Tarragon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was very good, however, it was way too salty for us. I don't think I'd add any of the salt at first next time, and would just salt to taste afterwards. I did have to substitute a mixture of chopped spring onions and white onions for the leeks, since I didn't have any, and I only had dried tarragon on hand so I used 1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp. The flavor was good other than the salt issue. It's great to have a new use for all of the heads of lettuce we have been getting from our csa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was delicious. Lovely green color makes for a wonderful presentation & the flavor is superb. Very quick & easy to make too. Fresh tarragon is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent!!! Lots of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Good flavor blend but the texture and appearance is not very appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I really liked this soup. My tarrigon was late season in a dry year, so I cut it back to about half the suggested amount. And I added a dollup of plain yogurt (sour cream would do as well) to the soup after dishing into the bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
OMG, who would have thought *lettuce* soup would taste so darn good! I used a romaine, leeks and tarragon from my garden. The lettuce was a little tough from being left in the ground too long, so I had to find another use for it besides salad. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I cut the unsalted butter to 2 tbsp., used low sodium chicken broth, and I only added 1 tsp. of salt, which was the perfect amount in my opinion. I also did not blend it, preferring to leave it chunky, and I'm glad I did it that way. No yogurt or sour cream needed! It's fantastic as is. You definitely have to like tarragon, though, which I do. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very yummy. Worth making again... I added a little crumbled bacon, and it was perfectly delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarinagal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The soup was lovely! A perfect light soup for summer, when your garden is producing so much lettuce that if you see another salad you'll scream:) I used all the lettuces that were getting to large. Meuslun mix, romain and butter/bib. Had no leeks so used a combo of a bit of onion and some scallions. 3 small cloves of comfey garlic, salted butter and organic chicken stock, so added no salt till just before serving. It needed a pinch, along with the pepper. I always use an immersion blender, easier and mess/cleanup. The tarragon was a terrific touch, though I wonder what adding mint one time would be like, having way more mint growing then the tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
just try it. i dont cook a lot but this is very easy and tastes fantastic, and everyone else thinks so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is amazing. Wonderful, interesting flavors, and you can use any green leafy veggie instead of lettuce. Kale or collard greens are great to use for extra nutrition; just increase your cooking time to ten minutes instead of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States