Lettuce and Tarragon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I really liked this soup. My tarrigon was late season in a dry year, so I cut it back to about half the suggested amount. And I added a dollup of plain yogurt (sour cream would do as well) to the soup after dishing into the bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
just try it. i dont cook a lot but this is very easy and tastes fantastic, and everyone else thinks so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Good flavor blend but the texture and appearance is not very appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was delicious. Lovely green color makes for a wonderful presentation & the flavor is superb. Very quick & easy to make too. Fresh tarragon is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent!!! Lots of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was very good, however, it was way too salty for us. I don't think I'd add any of the salt at first next time, and would just salt to taste afterwards. I did have to substitute a mixture of chopped spring onions and white onions for the leeks, since I didn't have any, and I only had dried tarragon on hand so I used 1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp. The flavor was good other than the salt issue. It's great to have a new use for all of the heads of lettuce we have been getting from our csa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very yummy. Worth making again... I added a little crumbled bacon, and it was perfectly delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarinagal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
OMG, who would have thought *lettuce* soup would taste so darn good! I used a romaine, leeks and tarragon from my garden. The lettuce was a little tough from being left in the ground too long, so I had to find another use for it besides salad. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I cut the unsalted butter to 2 tbsp., used low sodium chicken broth, and I only added 1 tsp. of salt, which was the perfect amount in my opinion. I also did not blend it, preferring to leave it chunky, and I'm glad I did it that way. No yogurt or sour cream needed! It's fantastic as is. You definitely have to like tarragon, though, which I do. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
It was good but not very hearty if you know what I mean. I used spinach instead of lettuce to give it more nutrition. If you have my luck, you'll have green soup splattered all over the kitchen when you use the blender...it's fine with chunks. I put my spinach through the food processor before I added it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The soup was lovely! A perfect light soup for summer, when your garden is producing so much lettuce that if you see another salad you'll scream:) I used all the lettuces that were getting to large. Meuslun mix, romain and butter/bib. Had no leeks so used a combo of a bit of onion and some scallions. 3 small cloves of comfey garlic, salted butter and organic chicken stock, so added no salt till just before serving. It needed a pinch, along with the pepper. I always use an immersion blender, easier and mess/cleanup. The tarragon was a terrific touch, though I wonder what adding mint one time would be like, having way more mint growing then the tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States