Less Fat Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
As an 8 mo pregnant person with Gallstones (can't have surgery until after the baby and controlling it with an ultra low-fat diet), I'm always on the look-out for non-fat or very low-fat recipes that will satisfy pregnancy cravings. I tried a ginger "snap" recipe several months ago and they came out very cakey. I ran across this recipe today and decided to try it. First of all, I forgot to cream the sugar into the margarine so I added an additional 1/8 cup of sugar and kind-of creamed the sugar into that. I also added cloves, mace and cinnamon to the recipe (I really like spicy cookies). To those who complain about the stickiness of the dough here's a tip. Drop blobs into the reserved sugar from a spoon. You can use the sugar to help roll the balls and it really doesn't stick to your hand very badly. I cooked them on a Silpat for 15 minutes and they actually turned out crunchy. Yeah! The first pan I didn't press down and they started to rise too much for me, so while they were in the oven I pressed them with a spatula. Seemed to work. The next pans I pressed down before baking. I'm not sure why people say they are too sweet. For me, there is no such thing as a "too sweet" cookie! It's the sugar content that helps them crisp up in the absence of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I used whole wheat flour and also doubled the spices, and added 1tsp cinnamon. Next time I will use maybe 1tsp vanilla as well, and brown sugar in place of some of the white sugar in this recipe, seems to be lacking just a little something. But this is a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I thought the dough was too sticky to roll into the sugar, so I just put a heaping teaspoons onto parchment paper lined cookie sheets. They came out beautiful. They are very good for a low fat cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These cookies are a pretty good alternative to the full fat version, but they did not turn out thin & crispy like we prefer our gingersnaps. If you like soft, puffy, & chewy gingersnaps, then this is the recipe for you. :) We did like the flavor, however (I added much more ground ginger & cinnamon to the mix). I agree with others that they are a little on the sweet side even with unsweetened applesauce, so the sugar can definitely be reduced. Thanks for sharing the recipe! My hips & thighs thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have made these very sweet treats twice and found them easy to make and eat but would make tiny adjustments next time. I would substitute 1 teaspoon cinammon, 1 teaspoon ginger and cut way back on the allspice, or omit and use 1/4 teaspoon of cloves instead , and cut back on the sugar. Also, 2 tablespoons of margarine or butter could improve the taste subtley. A few grains of salt could also smooth out the taste. For calorie-reduced recipes, taste has to be spot on to satisfy or else our diets are at risk. The recipe made no reference to unsweetened applesauce which would also reduce the sweetness and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great low-fat cookie! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour, then followed other reviewers and added more spices. Delicious with some warm peaches and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The first batch I made came out awesome thin and crunchy chewy cookies. The second batch I made I added less sugar and they turned out all fluffy like the picture above, mabey I added too much baking soda idk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
these are delicious, but even more so considering how much healthier they are than 95% of desserts! i took some of the suggestions to increase the spices, and also tossed in a little vanilla. the cooking spray on the fingers tip definitely helped stop the sticking. with these minor changes, this recipe is worthy of all 5 stars. i will DEFINITELY be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These cookies are so yummy! I always bake them so they are chewy - around 8 minutes. They're soft and sweet and spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These were very difficult to make. The dough is very stiff and crumbly. I ended up adding 1/8 cup of vegetable oil to bind everything together. The taste is ok. I originally made the Grandmother's Gingersnaps recipe and those came out PERFECT. Of course, not as healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States