Leslie's Strawberry Breakfast Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very tasty and simple, a fun new edition to breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
It's been quite a while since I pan-fried a pork chop because we usually grill them. This was a very nice change! We really liked the sauce that came with it, which I made earlier in the day and refrigerated to let the flavors meld--then microwaved it when the meat was ready. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I just made these and they were awesome! I didn't have cayenne pepper so I just left that out, and I accidentally cooked the chops in the sauce/mixture instead of saving it until the end. But I think they still came out great. This is such a fun flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, but my young adult children insisted it should only get 4 because it wasn't spicy enough. They wanted it to seriously burn; I was content with its slow, comfortable warmth. (Next time I will add some cayenne directly to the sauce for them.) No one complained about the overall flavor, though. It's a surprisingly tasty combination! I cooked 6 pork chops so I tripled the sauce recipe. Like some other reviewers, I used raspberry jam instead of strawberry, sauteed the garlic in the skillet (substituting olive oil for the butter), and after browning the chops I poured the sauce into the skillet as a braising liquid and cooked it all for about an hour. (I didn't want to watch it closely while it cooked, so I also added the water with which I rinsed out the sauce pan -- maybe 3/4 of a cup? -- but then thickened the sauce back up with a tablespoon of corn starch at serving time.) Served over brown rice with a tossed salad and fresh melon, this was both a pretty and satisfying meal. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
While I was cooking these, my husband read over the receipe and announced, 'I hate horseradish. Is there anything else that I can eat?' He finally agreed to at least try them, and he was sold after the very first bite. He even said I have to make this at least once a month. The only thing different that I did was used a strawberry/plum preserve. Thanks Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
First let me preface this with the fact I was super distracted. I was going to make sage pork chops, but I grabbed the curry powder and sprinkled it on the meat. Once I realized, I put sage and sea salt on top of it. I had some black cherry fruit spread and saw this recipe. Since the pork chops were already cooking, I just dumped the fruit spread in the pan with minced garlic. I put in a healthy amount worcestershire sauce on accident. I noticed the label when it back in the fridge! So I poured the soy sauce right in on top of it. With all my distraction, the chops still came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe sounds really wacky, but it works well. I made this with raspberry jam instead. Only suggestion I would make would be to lightly fry the garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was an amazing combination! I doubled the sauce as recommended by others & added abit more strawberry preserves. Just before serving I added some cornstarch & water to thicken the sauce then poured over the chops & a savory dill butter rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I used strawberry sauce that I had made rather than the preserves, and decided to bake the chops rather than cook in the skillet. I baked them in the sauce....and it was GREAT sauce. Will make again and try cooking them in skillet to see if there is a difference in taste. Went great with some horseradish mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was pretty good, a nice change from the normal porkchops. I made for company and used boneless pork loin. Everyone loved it, even my husband who isn't a strawberry or horseradish fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States