Leslie's Salty Grilled Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was a wonderful baked potato! My husband, who NEVER eats the skins, ate the skins and said it was yummy! I will definately be making these agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I cut the potatoes up into wedges because I didnt want to wait an hour for them to cook. And I added some parmesan cheese. I love all the flavour in these. I will make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
These are WONDERFUL!! Even DH was talking about them a couple of days later and says they get "thumbs up" which is high praise from him since he's pretty spoiled by my cooking! I DID lessen the salt (trying to behave!) and didn't try the italian seasoning this time, but the flavor was absolutely excellent... my charcoal grill was jacked up to about 600 degrees with the lid on, so the potatoes took less time to cook, but didn't burn and were tender and flavorful through the entire potato. I was cooking steaks, too, so built the fire on one side of the grill and put the potatoes on the opposite side from the fire. Perfect!! I will make these again and again, maybe trying different seasonings. Thanks for a great recipe, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Nice twist on an old familiar. I brushed the foil with olive oil instead of butter. The potato skins were soft and had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I was looking for that perfect potato you always get at those fancy steak houses and this is it! These were fantastic! The garlic powder is a perfect touch to the skins. Everyone ate em up. Yum yum yum. Thanks Leslie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
The skin was very tasty. I used about half the salt. I had two huge potatoes, so I ended up cooking them for about 1.5 hours at a temp of 300. For about an hour of that time, I had them on indirect heat and 30 right over the flame (gas grill).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
These were yummy. The only thing I'd recommend is poking the potato before wrapping, and then poking the tin foil, we ended up with little bits of tin foil in the potato doing it all at once. Very yummy, tangy skins and perfectly cooked inside. We made it with a one hour drunken chicken recipe and everything came out at the same time. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Very good-- I didn't put on the italian, and used a sea salt/roasted garlic grinder-- worked perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Wow did these make a huge hit at a recent family cookout! Even the kids wanted 2nd's! I made 25 of these on a large grate over a campfire. I bought some pkg'd seasoning for potatoes in the produce isle,buttered each foil piece,sprinkled about 1/4 t seasoning and a sprinkle of coarse salt,rolled each potato in it,and wrapped it. They were all ready in about 1 hr,to 1 hr 10 min. All the potatoes were pretty even in size.I will be making these again!Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were delicious but I didn't use as much salt as the recipe indicated. I didn't have any course salt so I used only about 1 tbsp. of table salt. I made a paste from the ingredients then spread it on the foil. Following the suggestion of another reviewer, I poked holes in the potatoes but not in the foil. I used smaller potatoes and the grill was very hot so they only took about 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States