Leslie's Ham Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This soup was easy to make and very tasty. The only thing I'll do different the next time is cook the lentils a little longer. It's a great way to use a leftover ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMHungry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Thank you for this recipe. I didn't have split peas so I made this one with the lentils. I didn't have any green peppers, so I improvised on the flavoring. I added 1 1/2 tsps. of allspice(sounds like a lot but I doubled the recipe) and added some dried thyme. I also cut back on my time by using shredded carrots instead of chopped.It helped to saute the onion and celery in olive oil as one reviewer suggested.This is a great soup to make all year round. VERY TASTY!!! The family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I was looking for something I could make with my leftover ham and ham bone from Easter, so I tried this soup. It is simple, but delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I had already cut the vast majority of ham from my ham bone, though, so I just cubed what I'd already cut off and added it to the soup at the very end. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Sharma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmapeel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this last night, and it was gone in about 45 minutes! Very good, hearty, flavorful soup. I didn't have any bullion or a spare hambone laying around, so, I used canned chicken broth (2 cans, + some water) substituted a bit of prepackaged thick-sliced ham; I also sauteed the veggies and chopped ham in a bit of butter before adding the broth and lentils. The marjoram and bell pepper really give it a good kick. Thanks Leslie! Happy to add this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmapeel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I stumbled onto this recipe because I had lentils and really wanted to make soup. Accidentally the lentils used had been pie weights previously ,didn't affect the soup at all. It turned out beautifully I did add a clove of garlic, and cook my ham a little longer and I added 2 small sweet potatoes,I have an allergy to celery. This is my new go to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa1000
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight. Came out great! Used the tricolor lentils for some extra visual appeal. Red lentils faded to brown, black held up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I did add a few extra things to it that worked out really well...a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, 1 Tbs of sugar to cut the acidity, a few cups of chopped kale, some fresh diced garlic and lemon pepper for some zing. I Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious!!! I loved that it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any marjoram but it was delicious nonetheless. My husband raved about it! This will definitely become a favorite winter dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great, easy,and quick. Next time I would boil the ham bone a while before adding my lentils so I don't have to spend as much time de-boning. I also sautéed my veggies in a little olive oil before adding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States