Leslie's Ham Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emmapeel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this last night, and it was gone in about 45 minutes! Very good, hearty, flavorful soup. I didn't have any bullion or a spare hambone laying around, so, I used canned chicken broth (2 cans, + some water) substituted a bit of prepackaged thick-sliced ham; I also sauteed the veggies and chopped ham in a bit of butter before adding the broth and lentils. The marjoram and bell pepper really give it a good kick. Thanks Leslie! Happy to add this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmapeel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I stumbled onto this recipe because I had lentils and really wanted to make soup. Accidentally the lentils used had been pie weights previously ,didn't affect the soup at all. It turned out beautifully I did add a clove of garlic, and cook my ham a little longer and I added 2 small sweet potatoes,I have an allergy to celery. This is my new go to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa1000
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight. Came out great! Used the tricolor lentils for some extra visual appeal. Red lentils faded to brown, black held up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I did add a few extra things to it that worked out really well...a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, 1 Tbs of sugar to cut the acidity, a few cups of chopped kale, some fresh diced garlic and lemon pepper for some zing. I Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious!!! I loved that it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any marjoram but it was delicious nonetheless. My husband raved about it! This will definitely become a favorite winter dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great, easy,and quick. Next time I would boil the ham bone a while before adding my lentils so I don't have to spend as much time de-boning. I also sautéed my veggies in a little olive oil before adding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Dear Leslie, bless your heart! I didn't have a ham bone, but was looking for a way to use up some ham that had been in the freezer, and decided to try your recipe with the slight modification of using 3 cups of chopped ham instead of the ham bone. I've always been a little scared of making lentil soup, I don't know why, I guess I always wondered if I could get full bodied, rich tasting soup instead of the thin stuff. This was perfect, perfect, perfect!! It's sitting on the stove now, cooling, and once it's cool enough, I'll probably refrigerate it overnight, and it will probably be even better! I actually let it simmer for 30+ minutes -- only because I love simmering soup on the stove and letting the aroma fill the house! If anyone is thinking of leaving out the marjoram, DON'T DO IT! It is the perfect flavoring for ham soups. Also be sure to skim off any of the foam that's created by simmering. Next time I'll use a ham bone, but even so, I now know there's a lentil soup out there that I can make (and freeze!) with just the ham. Thank you Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I was very pleasantly surprised by this soup. It was so quick to make as well. I do tend to customize recipes on the fly. I added garlic and ginger finely diced. Also a whole red onion. It was a hit. I will definitely be making this one again and am looking forward to the left overs tomorrow after it has a chance to marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I didn't have any marjoram, but even without it, this soup was a huge hit in my house. I would love to try it with the marjoram, but don't worry if you don't have it, it will still taste fine; it is flavourful without being heavy. I happened to have chicken broth on hand, so I used that instead of using bouillon. Next time I make it, I think I will roast my vegetables first simply because I love the extra flavour that roasting provides. I may have to start cooking more ham on the bone just so I can make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made a smaller portion just for my husband I sautéed onions and carrots in Bacon Fat then deglazed the pan with white wine then followed the rest of the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States