Leslie's Ham Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious!!! I loved that it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any marjoram but it was delicious nonetheless. My husband raved about it! This will definitely become a favorite winter dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great, easy,and quick. Next time I would boil the ham bone a while before adding my lentils so I don't have to spend as much time de-boning. I also sautéed my veggies in a little olive oil before adding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Dear Leslie, bless your heart! I didn't have a ham bone, but was looking for a way to use up some ham that had been in the freezer, and decided to try your recipe with the slight modification of using 3 cups of chopped ham instead of the ham bone. I've always been a little scared of making lentil soup, I don't know why, I guess I always wondered if I could get full bodied, rich tasting soup instead of the thin stuff. This was perfect, perfect, perfect!! It's sitting on the stove now, cooling, and once it's cool enough, I'll probably refrigerate it overnight, and it will probably be even better! I actually let it simmer for 30+ minutes -- only because I love simmering soup on the stove and letting the aroma fill the house! If anyone is thinking of leaving out the marjoram, DON'T DO IT! It is the perfect flavoring for ham soups. Also be sure to skim off any of the foam that's created by simmering. Next time I'll use a ham bone, but even so, I now know there's a lentil soup out there that I can make (and freeze!) with just the ham. Thank you Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I was very pleasantly surprised by this soup. It was so quick to make as well. I do tend to customize recipes on the fly. I added garlic and ginger finely diced. Also a whole red onion. It was a hit. I will definitely be making this one again and am looking forward to the left overs tomorrow after it has a chance to marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I didn't have any marjoram, but even without it, this soup was a huge hit in my house. I would love to try it with the marjoram, but don't worry if you don't have it, it will still taste fine; it is flavourful without being heavy. I happened to have chicken broth on hand, so I used that instead of using bouillon. Next time I make it, I think I will roast my vegetables first simply because I love the extra flavour that roasting provides. I may have to start cooking more ham on the bone just so I can make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made a smaller portion just for my husband I sautéed onions and carrots in Bacon Fat then deglazed the pan with white wine then followed the rest of the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Had no split peas, but had lentils so I tried this one. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was really good. My Husband and 3 year old daughter ate it up! I served it with toasted pretzel bread and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is better than any other lentil recipe I've tried. I love the addition of the green bell pepper, and added some red in, too. I let it simmer all day and there was just a ton of flavor. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States