Lepinja (Serbian Flatbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It wasn't bad by any means; it just had literally ZERO flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Added a bit of black pepper to the flour before mixing, then felt ballsy and topped half of the loaf with shredded sharp cheddar and onion powder. The dough misbehaved a bit as I went to bake it, but it turned out just fine. Ate it plain, and both halves were delicious in their own way. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
really delicious bread with a good yeasty flavor. We made the cevapcici recipe and ate them together with cucumber yogurt and sliced tomatoes and onions. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This bread is so great. My mom is serbian, and it brings me back to when I was a child helping her in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
MMmmm, I am typing this with my mouthful of bread. Really delicious. Makes a nice chewy crust. I did find I needed more flour before the first rise to get the dough to clear the sides of the bowl. No biggie. This would be great with some herbs kneaded in or some kosher salt on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
We have been out of work for a while, and I make this nearly every week - out back on the grill in summer (between 1 and 4 min per side, depending on how hot the grill is) and in the oven (broiling at 500+ nearly as briefly) in winter. I roll it a little flatter -1/4 inch and it makes the most amazing, magazine photo-worthy pizzas, wraps, pita sandwiches etc. and I look amazing instead of poor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I am Croatian, and this is peaty much same recipe my grandmother use to make, but like your frien she never mesured anything. Hope where you live there are Croatian food stores, because here in Canada they carry seasonigs for chevapi and recipe is on the back. It's for 2 1/3 lb of pork or beef, sometimes I mix both kinds together add 1egg, some 1/2 and 1/2 cream, 1/4 cup of Italian seasoned bread crumbs and mix it all together by hand by kneading it gently until it forms a not to firm ball. Let it reast for about 1h in a fridge, take it out and take a handfull of mixture and form littel sausage roll, continue till all mixture is used up, BBQ. If you can't get seasoning mix; buy fine garlic powder, sea salt and finely ground black pepper and mix it, aproximatly 1/3 of each. Use 1 oz of mix for as above. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Let me start with saying I've never tried this recipe, but being Croatian and growing up with this food, I can maybe offer an insight in why some people had issues with it. Lepinja is a traditional "bread" served with chevapcici, which is a minced sheep meat or beef meat (never pork) and it's origin is in Bosnia. Submitter has the ingredients right and has described the making process very well. However, you need to preheat your oven to as high as it will go prior to putting lepinja's in. Also, separate dough into flat rounds. You can make a ball and flatten it... Very hot oven will make the lepinja "split" and puff in the middle, making it easy to cut it open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I'm so glad I found your recipe - my Serbian husband loves it! The only question I have is how much you let the yeast further develop once you mix the milk/yeast with the water/sugar? I let the milk/yeast sit for 5 min until foamy, then mixed in the water/sugar and pretty quickly combined that with the dry ingredients. Do you let it sit a while before combining it all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
very goood, and similar to baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States